Skip to main content

Guide to Library Services for Faculty

This guide highlights library services that can assist faculty with their research and instruction, and also provides helpful hints on getting the most out of the Library.

Librarian liaisons

Library liaisons engage with faculty and staff, meeting their research, access, and teaching needs across all schools, departments, and University programs. Liaisons are expected to be advocates for the Library, its services and resources, and will work to foster collaboration between the Library and other areas on campus.  

Librarians liaise with academic and administrative departments in a variety of appropriate and necessary ways, including:

  • Outreach, Advocacy, and Support (All)
  • Scholarly Communications (All)
  • Collection and Resources
  • Teaching, Learning, and Research Services  (Librarians)

Click the link below to find out the liaison for your department.

Information Literacy

Information Literacy at Otterbein University

The librarian faculty in partnership with departmental faculty educate students in how to identify, locate, evaluate, and use information effectively, as integral parts of scholarship, liberal education, and independent lifelong learning.

Click the links below to find out more or schedule a session with your librarian.

Library Staff

Our talented, dedicated, and skilled staff can provide assistance with a variety of library-related needs, from circulation to material requests, from the  acquisition of materials, utilizing our course reserves program to accessing our Archives or addressing administrative concerns.

Check out our library webpage's Staff section for names, departments, and contact information.  

Building Our Collection

The Courtright Memorial Library is a living library, a collection of resources designed for usability that reflects the curricular needs of our University.  We focus on building a collection that is, among other goals, relevant, useable, and reflects the current curricular and research goals and needs of the University.  The largest impacting force on the nature and shape of our collection is our faculty.  We welcome faculty requests for materials and suggest that you work with your Librarian Liaison or directly with Elizabeth Zeitz, our Technical Services Coordinator, to ensure we have what the you need.  

To directly submit Item Requests, please fill out the Acquisition Request Form - you will log in with your OZone username and password.  If you have questions, please contact Elizabeth Zeitz (ezeitz@otterbein.edu, 614.823.1938). 

If you are requesting materials to be put on Course Reserve, to be rushed to our main collection, or to be held for you, please make note of those concerns directly on the request form via the comment box.  

If you would like to have the Library consider purchasing a subscription to a periodical or electronic resource to add to our collection, please email Elizabeth Zeitz (ezeitz@otterbein.edu) and Allen Reichert (preichert@otterbein.edu) directly.  

Room Reservations

There are eight (8) rooms in the Library that can be reserved for course, group, or program needs.  Many are set up according to the University classroom standards, with projection equipment and computers.  Others, like Lois' Study on the 2nd floor, are perfect for collaborative group meeting spaces.

To reserve rooms, or to see availability and exact space and technologies associated, please see this Room Reservation link (Room Reservations).  For our classrooms, you will receive confirmation from the Registrar's Office and can direct any questions to registrar@otterbein.edu. For rooms like Lois' Study and the Otterbean Cafe, you will receive confirmation from library staff and can direct any questions to circ@otterbein.edu.