Skip to main content

Modern Languages General Guide

Meet with Librarian

If you are having a hard time getting started, or run into a road block with your topic get direct help! Schedule a Research Consultation with your subject librarian to get one-on-one assistance.

Ferdinand de Saussure on Language Study

A linguistic system is a series of differences of sound combined with a series of differences of ideas.

Otterbein Modern Language Databases

Academic Search Complete EBSCO 
Mobile- Most articles will be in English, but you can choose to change the search interface language from 12 other languages. Just click on the drop-down arrow for the "Language" box. (This option is also available in most of the databases from EBSCO.)

 

ARTFL - Full text of 2000 works in French, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of nonfiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Texts by 40 French Women Writers, 2 Italian works and a digital South East Library are also available.[info]

 

China Online Journals - access to Chinese-language arts and humanities journals in the China Online Journals collection from Wanfang

 

Economia y Negocios - EBSCO 
Mobile provides business and economics coverage for over 200 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere. Active titles include Revista de la CEPAL, Revista de Administraçao, Estudios Empresariales, and Agroeconómico.

 

Factiva - Includes full text newspapers newspapers in about 20 languages. Click on the "Source" folder, and then pick "Publications - by Language" to browse, or from the "News Pages" tab select under "Factiva pages" to read headlines and articles from many current foreign newspapers.

 

French Student Discovery Encyclopedia (L'Encyclopédie Découverte) - A general student encyclopedia in the French language.
 

 Fuente Academica - EBSCO 
Mobilea multicisciplinary database of articles from 260 scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers.

 

Hispanica Saber - A general Spanish language encyclopedia.

 

Humanities International Complete - provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 1.6 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases.

 

JStor - JStor provides electronic access to the backfiles of scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subjects.

 

LexisNexis Academic - Click on the red & white "news" tab and then use the drop-down arrow by "Select Sources" to chose either French, German, Portuguese, Spanish, Italian or Dutch sources.

 

Literary Reference Center - EBSCO 
MobilePublished by EBSCOHost, it includes brief biographies, plot summaries from Masterplots, book reviews, interviews, reference books, and periodical articles, as well as poetry and stories from magazines and literary review journals.

 

Literature Resource Center - Published by Gale, this database has full text biography, reviews and literary criticism on 122,000 authors. It includes plot summaries, reviews and full-text articles from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, and 12,000 signed biographies from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, and more.

 

MLA -

  • is the most comprehensive database for access to books, parts of books, articles and dissertations concerning literary theory and criticism, linguistics folklore, and the dramatic arts.
  • is published by the Modern Language Association (MLA) with indexing back to 1926 with over 1.8 million citations.
  • has international coverage.
  • includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection with links to full text.
  • includes listings on rhetoric and composition, and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature.

MedicLatina - EBSCO 
Mobilea Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers with full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish

 

Spanish Student Discovery Encyclopedia (Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos) -

A general student encyclopedia in the Spanish language. 

Vente et Gestion - EBSCO 
Mobilecovers French Language Business publications, and most are full text.