Revolution
Favorite Sources
Did you find a particularly useful source concerning women's history? Add it here!
Getting Started
Need ideas?
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries are a great start to get ideas. They often have a bibliography that can point you to more resources as well.
Online:
OhioLINK E-Books: An advanced keyword search limited with the term reference in the subject field will turn up many many books, such as
Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War, British Colonial America: People and Perspectives, etc.
Credo Reference - This database includes a few sources, mostly biographical reference such as Notable American Women and Who was who in America 1607-1984
Wikipedia* - Great place to generate ideas and see if they provide a bibliography. Just don't use it beyond this information gathering stage.
Print: Below are just a few reference books on the revolutionary period in US history. Note that you can also get into this topic from annother direction, such as the theme you want to discuss. An Advanced Keyword Search in our catalog will let you restrict your search to the reference collection.
Historical Atlas of the American Revolution - Barnes, Ian
Call Number: Ref E208 B36 2000
ISBN/ISSN: 0415922437
The encyclopedia of colonial and revolutionary America - John Mack Faragher, ed.
Call Number: Ref E188 .E63 1996
ISBN/ISSN: 0306806878
Black Women in America - Darlene Clark Hine, editor in chief
Call Number: Ref E185.86 .B542 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0195156773
Topic Suggestions
From Sarah Fatherly's syllabus:
|
·
medicine during
the war |
·
experiences of
loyalists |
|
·
music in the
revolution |
·
camp life for
the army |
|
·
women’s
involvement in the war effort |
·
military
strategy or tactical developments |
|
·
the naval war |
·
Native American
involvement |
|
·
conflict between
ideals of Revolution and slavery |
·
emergence of
American political poetry during the taxation crises |
|
·
role of state
and local militias in the war |
·
recruiting
strategies for the army |
|
·
creating the
national memory of the Revolution |
·
influence of
the Declaration on other later “declarations” |
|
·
American or
British prison camps |
·
role of tavern
life in revolutionary politics |
|
·
involvement of
African Americans in the war |
·
political
cartoons about the conflict |
|
·
British
political debates over the war |
·
experience of
German soldiers in the war |
|
·
impact of the
Revolution in other British colonies ( |
·
role of
European military figures in the American army |
|
·
different kinds
of colonial protest—riots, petitions, mass meetings, etc |
·
role of
religion in motivating rebellion and war |
Page Creator & Librarian Dude |
Allen Reichert![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Courtright Memorial Library
614-823-1164
Reference Desk 614-823-1984
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Communication, History/Political Science, Integrative Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Submit a Link



Loading content... please wait