The following are databases that might be helpful AND are not available through your public or school library. You won't be able to use these resources (except possibly JSTOR) after you leave Otterbein's library.
Secondary Databases: May also have primary sources. Also check bibliographies.
Index and abstracts of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Primary Databases: However, for some of these it would still depend on the time period. For example, an article about the Civil War from 1890 may be a secondary document, rather than primary.
Includes scholarship published in more than 2,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. JSTOR is an archival database providing complete runs of back issues. Issues published in the last 3-5 years are not usually available.
This collection contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800.
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Series 1 & 2 cover 1827-1998 and includes papers from more than 35 states. Nearly 360 newspapers are featured, chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Covers life in the Antebellum South, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, and more.
Remember that most college/university libraries allow for community / walk-in users. Each library will have their own policy. Check their pages.
