Skip to Main Content
Session 1: Finding Creative Works
American Drama This link opens in a new window
American Drama currently contains more than 700 plays from over 300 dramatists of American dramatic literature from 1714 to the present. When finished, American Drama will feature the complete texts of more than 2,000 plays written by American dramatists.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ provides unlimited access to over 1000+ full-length productions and educational resources. This includes recorded live performances, behind the scenes discussions, and educational resources.
New Play Exchange This link opens in a new window
The New Play Exchange ® (NPX) is the world's largest digital library of scripts by living writers. The NPX, a National New Play Network program, is flipping the script on the ways in which new work is shared and discovered. National New Play Network (NNPN) is an alliance of professional theaters that collaborate in innovative ways to develop, produce, and extend the life of new plays.NOTE: In rare instances a playwright may have chosen not to upload the full text of the play. In these instances the author’s landing page provides contact information.
Play Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Play Index searches over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject; style; genre; or cast type. In addition to standard searching capability, users can search by cast gender and number or by the age group for which it was written. Records include requirements for scenery, cast, and music, as well as an abstract and subject descriptions in addition to links to full-text plays accessible online.
Session 1: Finding Commentary and Analysis
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance provides full text of journal articles on all aspects of theater and performance, plus indexing for books, book articles and dissertation abstracts. IBTD with Full Text is a multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool for theater students, educators and professionals. IBTD was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research and continued by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of 1,900 journals and books in the humanities. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Reference Sources
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ provides unlimited access to over 1000+ full-length productions and educational resources. This includes recorded live performances, behind the scenes discussions, and educational resources.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
