Skip to Main Content

SOCL 3050: Criminology

A collection of resources and strategies for the BETTER KNOW A PRECINCT project.

Search Strategies

Limiters: Most databases will allow you to filter your results using facets, (sometimes called limiters or refiners. These are the options (normally located on the left side) that allow you to only display results that meet certain criteria such as peer review, full text, year of publication, etc. Using limiters can really help to cut down the number of results you get from a search.

Reference Scanning: When you find an article you like, look at the bibliography listed at the end of the article. There is a good chance that you'll find other articles that would be helpful to your research.

Identify Alternate Keywords or Subjects: Often databases will list the keywords or subject headings that are associated with the article you find. You can sometimes find this information in the abstract of the article as well. 

Use appropriately professional terms; Avoid acronyms; Don’t use too many search terms: more terms = fewer results;

Boolean Operators: Use of Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) can sometimes be useful to help tie together or separate search terms. Use AND to only find articles that contain both of the keywords you're looking for, use OR to search for articles that use either one, and use NOT to eliminate a search term from your search. 

Truncation and Wildcards: Using the Asterisk * after a search term tells the database to look for several variations of words. For example child* will search for Child, Children, Childhood.  Wom* will search for women, woman... some databases use the ! exclamation point for the wildcard symbol. 

 

Keyword Searching

 

 

Subject Searching

Language Natural language (YOUR language) Pre-defined "controlled" vocabulary (database language)
Familiarity/ease of use Familiar & easy to use: a great way to start your research Not always intuitive:  pre-defined terms are used to describe ideas, concepts, objects, activities, classes of people, academic subjects, etc.
How searches work Searches for keywords anywhere in the record:  keywords are not necessarily connected in a meaningful way resulting in sources that may not be relevant Searches for specific pre-defined terms only in the subject heading or descriptor field, limiting your results to the most relevant sources
Flexibility Very flexible:  can combine together in many ways Less flexible:  need to know the exact controlled vocabulary term
Number of results Often yields too many or too few results Due to its precision, it will typically give you far fewer results than a keyword search
Relevance It May yield many irrelevant results results are usually very relevant to the topic

 

Boolean Operators

Try out the Boolean Machine.