We live in an age in which the borders between fact, opinion and partial fact have been blurred to the point where it's hard to tell one from the others. For example, if we know for sure the date of the Pearl Harbor Attack (December 7, 1941), the causes are still interpretable. We cannot argue a fact, namely that the attack happened on a particular date, but we can argue about the causes. However, even this argumentation needs to follow some rules: is there enough evidence to verify one explanation or another? Does the evidence come from reliable, impartial sources? Has it been accepted or not by the academic establishment? If it hasn't, why is that? With so many conspiracy theories out there, we have to be careful if we deal with interpretations that have no basis in reality or only partial basis in reality.
At the same time, we can argue about which food is the best. This is an opinion and, in principle, opinions are all equal because there is no objective, verifiable criterion for establishing what best food represents. It is a matter of taste. But if we make the argument about the healthiness of a food over another we move into verifiable territory and we can have more informed, fact-based information.
Always think about the factual character of information, about the partial or impartial character of information, who is behind it, does the source express opinions or truth claims based in fact?
Watch the video below and ask yourself some questions: 1. Who is the person making these claims about global warming? 2. Why is he trying to fight a scientific consensus? 3. What sources of information is he citing? 4. Is the information he provides true, partially true, or false? 5. Where should you go to verify his claims or get some objective information, especially if this is not your field of study?
In our society, we are constantly confronted with opposite viewpoints. We cannot agree on many issues simply because often these issues are relative to value-systems that are not compatible. What do we value more: employment or gainful employment, individual rights or collective rights, safety or freedom, equality or opportunity? These values often inform our debates on a variety of issues, from taxes to gun rights, and from abortion to immigration. While we may believe in some of these values, we should not let them get in the way of acknowledging that facts are facts and they should not be skewed in order to confirm our own assumptions.
Here are some examples of databases that allow you to search for information on such controversial issues as climate change action, gun control, abortion, etc., while still maintaining an objective distance and recognizing that there are multiple points of view.
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications.
Current events database - Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Look at the list of fallacies and select one that you have encountered before. In what context?
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 250 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The product is aimed at business clients and academics of any size.
This thoroughly revised five-volume reference work, available both in print and electronic editions, reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
Violence
GMOs
Migration
Charter Schools
Universal Health Care
Free Trade
Student Debt
Mass transit
Marijuana
Others--Browse for Issues