Many online databases allow you to automatically export citations to Zotero so you don't have to manually enter them. However, it's important to know how to enter and edit citations, as you'll need to double-check that any automatic imports are correct, and make sure they conform to the capitalization standards of your citation style.
1. Ensure the Zotero desktop app is open before importing a citation.
2. From the article page, click the Zotero Connector button in your browser toolbar.
Zotero will generate a citation in your library and attach the full text, if available.
For JSTOR: In order to save the full text, you may need to click the full text PDF link and accept the terms and conditions. Then go back to the article page and use the Zotero Connector.
The above process does not work with Gale databases, such as Gale Virtual Reference Library. To import citations from these databases:
1. In the Tools menu on the right-hand side of the database page, click Cite to open the Citation Tools Window.
2. In the pop-up window, choose "Download RIS" from the menu at the bottom.
The database will download a .ris file to your computer.
3. In Zotero, open the File menu and choose Import.
Navigate to your downloads or wherever you saved the file and open it. Zotero will add the citation information as a new reference.
4. If the full-text PDF is available and you would like to attach it to the record, see how to add Full Text.
Web version:
If you are adding records from OneSearch with the identifier command in Zotero, then just use the session link for the article. This is the link in your browser. It will automatically add the Permalink.