African American Literature

African American Women

• African American women : a biographical dictionary / Dorothy C. Salem, editor.  New York : Garland, 1993. OTTERBEIN REFERENCE : E185.96 .A45 1993
• Epic lives : one hundred Black women who made a difference / Jessie Carney Smith, editor ; foreword by Stephanie Stokes Oliver. Detroit : Visible Ink Press, c1993. OTTERBEIN REFERENCE : E185.96 .E65 1993
• Female African Americans and health research / Nana T. Ileweng and Ellen B. Parsons, editors. New York : Nova Science Publishers, c2008.
  OTTERBEIN REFERENCE :RA778.4.A36 F46 2008
• Notable Black American women / Jessie Carney Smith, editor.   Detroit : Gale Research, c1992- OTTERBEIN REFERENCE : E185.96 .N68 1991

Art, Music, Films

• Black music in the United States : an annotated bibliography of selected reference and research materials / Samuel A. Floyd, Marsha J. Reisser. OTTERBEIN REFERENCE : ML128.B45 F6 1983
• Blacks in black and white : a source book on Black films / by Henry T. Sampson., Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow press, c1995.
  OTTERBEIN REFERENCE : PN1995.9.N4 S2 1995
• Blacks in film and television : a Pan-African bibliography of films, filmmakers, and performers / compiled by John Gray
  OTTERBEIN REFERENCE :Z5784.M9 G72 1990
• Frame by frame III : a filmography of the African diasporan image, 1994-2004 / edited and with an introduction by Audrey Thomas McCluskey ; foreword by Edward Mapp. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c2007. OTTERBEIN REFERENCE :PN1995.9.N4 F73 2007
• Images of Blacks in American culture : a reference guide to information sources / edited by Jessie Carney Smith ; foreword by Nikki Giovanni. OTTERBEIN REFERENCE : NX652.A37 I43 1988
• Reel Black talk : a sourcebook of 50 American filmmakers / Spencer Moon ; foreword by George Hill. OTTERBEIN REFERENCE : PN1998.2 .M66 1997

Bibliographies

• Black music in the United States : an annotated bibliography of selected reference and research materials / Samuel A. Floyd, Marsha J. Reisser. OTTERBEIN REFERENCE : ML128.B45 F6 1983
• Black/white relations in American history : an annotated bibliography / Leslie V. Tischauser. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press ; Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, 1998. OTTERBEIN REFERENCE : E185.61 .T57 1998
• Blacks in film and television : a Pan-African bibliography of films, filmmakers, and performers / compiled by John Gray
  OTTERBEIN REFERENCE :Z5784.M9 G72 1990
• Black women in television : an illustrated history and bibliography / George Hill, Lorraine Raglin, Chas Floyd Johnson.
  OTTERBEIN REFERENCE : PN1992.8.A34 H55 1990
• The Schomburg Center guide to black literature : from the eighteenth century to the present / Roger M. Valade III, editor, with Denise Kasinec. OTTERBEIN REFERENCE : PN841 .S3465 1995