LibGuides: TYS 2999: Finding Articles

Databases

There are hundreds of databases to choose from. Sometimes, you'll want a specific area, such as the database listed above. Othertimes, you may want a database that is designed around types of work, such as the database below.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Other useful databases

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 250 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The product is aimed at business clients and academics of any size.
New York Times This link opens in a new window The major newspaper for New York City and for US News. 
How to get in:
For more detailed information on your NYtimes see this guide.
New User? This link takes you directly to the New York Times home page. On the right hand side is a box that says login.
- Click the login box
- At the bottom of the box click on the link : Continue with work or school single sign-on >
- Enter your work or school email
- Enter your password
- Enter the code from the Authenticator
- Continue setting up. You'll get a welcome screen stating you get access from Otterbein University
- Choose which newsletters you'd like to access, or hit continue in the bottom right corner
- Scan the QR code if you want the app on your phone, or hit continue in the bottom right corner (App will need to be logged in separately)
Returning User?
If you already have an account through your Otterbein email you can also login to update your access as Single Sign On (SSO) and get what is known as an academic pass.
Follow the instructions listed above.
Notes:
Single Sign-On (SSO) for members of Otterbein University permits you to use a single ID/password to access multiple related, yet independent, software systems.
Please note, the mobile app will require you to log into the system and doesn't have a direct login but you will be able to log in using your account.
If you already have a personal account: You can keep that account since it may have greater access to the NY Times site than the account you'll have through Otterbein. However, you can create a second account through Otterbein if you wish.

SIFT method for evaluating resources

SIFT is a series of actions you can take to determine the validity and reliability of claims and sources on the web.

The SIFT method, or strategy, is quick and simple and can be applied to various kinds of online content: news articles, scholarly articles, social media posts, videos, images, etc.

Each letter in SIFT corresponds to one of the Four Moves:

Stop

Investigate the source

Find better coverage

Trace claims, quotes and media to the original context

Find more details on the Four Moves from Mike Caulfield's SIFT (Four Moves), which is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers: Four Moves and a Habit
Freely available book about the SIFT method from Mike Caulfield who developed this procedure.