LibGuides: SYE 4403: Finding Articles

Databases

Columbus Dispatch This link opens in a new window
Full page images of the Columbus Dispatch go back to Apr 19th, 2017. Full text of articles can be found back to 1985.

Note: licensing terms excludes any use of Newsbank for fund raising, development, public relations, or communications.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

There are hundreds of databases to choose from. Sometimes, you'll want a specific area, such as the database listed above. Othertimes, you may want a database that is designed around types of work, such as the database below.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Other useful databases

Sage Data Foundations This link opens in a new window
Access to statistics compiled between 2017-2021. This is a curated collection of United States statistics; compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, sociology, political science, education, international studies, criminal justice, and many more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 250 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The product is aimed at business clients and academics of any size.

SIFT method for evaluating resources

SIFT is a series of actions you can take to determine the validity and reliability of claims and sources on the web.

The SIFT method, or strategy, is quick and simple and can be applied to various kinds of online content: news articles, scholarly articles, social media posts, videos, images, etc.

Each letter in SIFT corresponds to one of the Four Moves:

Stop

Investigate the source

Find better coverage

Trace claims, quotes and media to the original context

Find more details on the Four Moves from Mike Caulfield's SIFT (Four Moves), which is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers: Four Moves and a Habit
Freely available book about the SIFT method from Mike Caulfield who developed this procedure.

Use the A-Z Journal List!

A-Z Journal List

When you are looking for a particular journal or magazine, always check the Otterbein A-Z list to see if we have it.

If we don't have the journal you need, remember that you can always do Interlibrary Loan to get the article.

Interlibrary Loan