English Literary Studies

full text of 3000 poems written by African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries. The database includes allegories, broadsides, children's poems, elegiac poems, epics, hymns, odes, patriotic poems, and sonnets. The poets are among those included in the William French et al. bibliography, Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975.

700 plays from over 300 dramatists

collection of 1,200 books and anthologies of early American poetry. This database contains the works of all major American poets, including Emily Dickinson, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman, and John Greenleaf Whittier. It also covers many less familiar names.

Contains twenty-one versions of the Bible: thirteen complete Bibles, five editions of the New Testament, two editions of the Gospels, and William Tynsdale’s translations of the New Testament, Pentateuch, and Jonah. The editions were chosen specifically to meet the needs of scholars of English literature and history of the language, as well as those in biblical and theological studies. Protestant, Roman Catholic, and nonconformist editions of the Bible are all included to allow searching and comparison across different centuries and religious beliefs.

440 works of 80 novelists and short-story writers, 1774-1850

includes the complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, from the First Folio (1623) to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6. It also includes twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works, and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries.

the text of 96 works of English prose from the period 1700-1780, by writers from the British Isles

full text of over 175,000 poems by over 1,400 poets from British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries, between the years 600 and 1900 as listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature. Many of these collections are rare books, unavailable in print form.

The text of 1,800 plays listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature that were written or intended for the stage and wholly or primarily in prose by approximately 400 authors from the Renaissance to the end of the nineteenth century.

Texts of 2200+ English verse drama plays from the 13th to the 19th Century.

100 poets, including Audre Lorde, Langston Hughes, Rita Dove, and emerging poets.

contains 52,000 poems from collected works and individual volumes of poetry covering the works of most major twentieth-century American poets, beginning with the traditionalists; continuing through the modernists, represented by such poets as Wallace Stevens; and moving on to the contemporary works of the 1990s.

44,000 poems by 288 poets, incorporating the Modern Poetry Collection and The Faber Poetry Library

The complete works of W.B. Yeats

Lives of Literature contains 107 journals that are all new to JSTOR. The collection comprises four thematic modules: Medieval Authors & Texts, Modernist Authors, Victorian, Edwardian & Gothic Authors, Literary Theorists