Researching the Decades & Popular Culture

Chronologies

• American chronicle: seven decades in American life, 1920-1989 / Lois Gordon, Alan Gordon. Ref E169.1 .G664 1990
• American decades / edited by Vincent Tompkins. Ref E169.12 .A419 1994
• The Americana annual; an encyclopedia of current events Ref AE5 .A55 1943-
• American popular music : a reference guide / Mark W. Booth Ref ML102.P66 B65 1983
• Chase's ... calendar of events Ref D11.5 .C48
• Encyclopedia of contemporary French culture / edited by Alex Hughes and Keith Reader. Ref DC33.7 .E53 1998
• Events that shaped the century / by the editors of Time-Life Books, Ref E741 .E94 1998
• Facts on file FOLIO D410 .F3
  • A detailed summary of the national and international news events of a week. These weekly summaries are then gathered into yearly volumes, each with a comprehensive index.
• Timelines / Paul Dickson. Imprint Reading, Mass. : Addison-Wesley, c1990. Ref E741 .D53 1990 (covers 1945-1991)
• The World almanac and book of facts 1923- AY67.N5 W7

Overviews

• A century of sports / by the editors of Time-Life Books ; with a foreword by Walter Iooss, Jr. Ref GV583 .A2 2000
• Album of American history. James Truslow Adams, editor in chief Ref E178.5 .A48 1969z V. 1-6
• The Annals of America. E173 .A793 2003 V.1-22
• The century [videorecording] : America's time / ABC News/The History Channel ; E741 .C463 1999
  • (Anchored by Peter Jennings of ABC News, this 11 volumes series takes an era-by-era look at America's evolution during the turbulent 20th century.)
• Cold War [videorecording] / a Jeremy Isaacs production for Turner Original Productions, Inc. ; E183.8.S65 C65 1998
• Cold War culture : media and the arts, 1945-1990 / Richard A. Schwartz. Ref E169.12 .S39 1998
• Daily life in the United States, 1920-1939 [electronic resource] : decades of promise and pain / David E. Kyvig. http://www.netLibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=75518
• Daily life in the United States, 1920-1940 : how Americans lived through the "Roaring Twenties" and the Great Depression / David E. Kyvig. E169 .K985 2004
• The Encyclopedia of American facts and dates / Gorton Carruth. Ref E174.5 .C3 1993
• Encyclopedia of the United States in the twentieth century / Stanley I. Kutler, editor in chief (Includes bibliographical references and index) Ref E740.7 .E53 1996
• Encyclopedia of American social history / Mary Kupiec Cayton, Elliott J. Gorn, Peter W. Williams, editors. Ref HN57 .E58 1992
• Encyclopedia of contemporary French culture / edited by Alex Hughes and Keith Reader Ref DC33.7 .E53 1998 
• The encyclopedia of popular music / compiled & edited by Colin Larkin. Ref ML102.P66 G84 1998  v.1-8   
• Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War / editor in chief, Stanley I. Kutler. Ref DS557.7 .E53 1996
• This fabulous century. By the editors of Time-Life Books. FOLIO E161 .T55 V. 1-6
• Great events : 1900-2001 / from the editors of Salem Press Ref D421 .G627 2002 V. 1-6
• Growing up in twentieth-century America : a history and reference guide / Elliott West. Ref HQ792.U5 W423 1996
• Handbook of American popular culture / edited by M. Thomas Inge.
  Ref E169.1 .H2643 1989 (covers 20th century)
• Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970. Ref HA202 .B87 1975 V.1-2
• Immigrants : the new Americans / by the editors of Time-Life Books ; with a foreword by Henry A. Kissinger JV6450 .I555 1999
• Jane & Michael Stern's encyclopedia of pop culture: an A to Z guide of who's who and what's what, from aerobics and bubble gum to Valley of the dolls and Moon Unit Zappa. c1992. Ref E169.12 .S835 1992 (covers 1960-1992)
• Life looks back [videorecording] E741 .L53 1989
  • (This historic chronicle from LIFE Magazine is a stirring compilation of unforgettable photographs and film footage that capture the most memorable events of the shocking sixties, soul-searching seventies and soaring eighties.)
• Making the American home : middle-class women & domestic material culture, 1840-1940 / edited by Marilyn Ferris Motz and Pat Browne. TX23 .M35 1988
• Passing parade : a history of popular culture in the twentieth century / edited by Richard Maltby. Ref  CB151 .P27 1989 
• People who shaped the century / by the editors of Time-Life Books. Ref CT120 .P47 1999
• St. James encyclopedia of popular culture / editors, Tom Pendergast, Sara Pendergast : with an introduction by Jim Cullen. Ref E169.1 .S764 2000
• Timelines : day by day and trend by trend from the dawn of the Atomic Age to the Gulf War / Paul Dickson. E741 .D53 1991
• The value of a dollar : prices and incomes in the United States, 1860-2004 / edited by Scott Derks. Ref HB235.U6 V35 2004
• Twentieth-century American fashion / edited by Linda Welters and Patricia A. Cunningham GT615 .T94 2005
• Working Americans, 1880-2006/ by Scott Derks Folio HD8066 .D47 2000

1890-1899

• Prelude to the century, 1870-1900 / by the editors of Time-Life Books, Alexandria, Virginia. Ref E661 .P74 1999
• Working Americans, 1880-2006/ by Scott Derks Folio HD8066 .D47 2000

1900-1920

• American Decades: 1900-1909 Ref E169.12 .A419 1994
• American Decades: 1910-1919. Ref E169.12 .A419 1994
• Dawn of the century : 1900-1910 / by the editors of Time-Life Books. Ref E756 .D268 1998
• End of innocence : the 1910-1920 / by the editors of Time-Life Books. Ref E761 .E53 1998
• This fabulous century. By the editors of Time-Life Books. FOLIO E161 .T55 V. 1-2
• Working Americans, 1880-2006/ by Scott Derks Folio HD8066 .D47 2000

1920-1929

• The 1920s / Kathleen Drowne and Patrick Huber. E169.1 .D796 2004
• American Decades: 1920-1929 Ref E169.12 .A419 1994
• Daily life in the United States, 1920-1940 : how Americans lived through the "Roaring Twenties" and the Great Depression / David E. Kyvig. E169 .K985 2004
• Freedom from fear : the American people in depression and war, 1929-1945 / David M. Kennedy. E801 .K45 1999 
• The jazz age : the 20s / by the editors of Time-Life Books Ref E784 .J39 1998
• New world coming : the 1920s and the making of modern America / Nathan Miller E784 .M555 2004 
• Only yesterday : an informal history of the 1920's / Frederick Lewis Allen.  E784 .A6 2000    
• Our times ; the United States, 1900-1925... E741 .S9 V. 1-6
• This fabulous century. By the editors of Time-Life Books. FOLIO E161 .T55 V. 3
• Working Americans, 1880-2006/ by Scott Derks Folio HD8066 .D47 2000

1930-1939

• 1929-1941 : The great depression [videorecording] / National Geographic Society. HC106.3 .N56 1990
• 30s : all-American ads / edited by Jim Heimann ; with an introduction by Steven Heller NC998.5.A1 A647 2003   
• American Decades: 1930-1939. Ref E169.12 .A419 1994
• And in our time : vision, revision, and British writing of the 1930s / edited by Antony Shuttleworth PR478.S57 A83 2003 
• Anxious decades : America in prosperity and depression, 1920-1941 / Michael E. Parrish. E784 .P37 1992    
• Daily life in the United States, 1920-1940 : how Americans lived through the "Roaring Twenties" and the Great Depression / David E. Kyvig. E169 .K985 2004
• Down and out in the great depression: letters from the "forgotten man" / edited by Robert S. McElvaine. E169 .D746 1983
• Encyclopedia of the Great Depression and the New Deal / James Ciment. Imprint Armonk, N.Y. : Sharpe Reference, 2001. Ref E806 .C543 2001
• The great depression [videorecording] / produced by Towers Productions, Inc. for the History Channel ; executive producer, Jonathan Towers ; HB3717 1929 .G74 2002 V. 1-2
• Hard times, the 30s / by the editors of Time-Life Books. Ref E806 .H325 1998
• Since yesterday ; the nineteen-thirties in America, September 3, 1929-September 3, 1939, by Frederick Lewis Allen ... E741 .A66
• This fabulous century. By the editors of Time-Life Books. FOLIO E161 .T55 V. 4
• The thirties ; a time to remember E169.1 .C695
• Working Americans, 1880-2006/ by Scott Derks Folio HD8066 .D47 2000

1940-1949

• American Decades: 1940-1949 Ref E169.12 .A419 1994
• The American family : the War years 1941-1945 [videorecording] / narrated by Westbrook Van Voorhis. HQ535 .A43 1987
• America and the holocaust [videorecording] : deceit and indifference / Narrated by Hal Linden D810.J4 A488 1994b
• Decade of triumph, the 40s / by the editors of Time-Life Books ;Ref E806 .D425 1999
• Historical dictionary of the 1940s / editors, James G. Ryan and Leonard Schlup Ref D419 .H57 2006
• Not so long ago [videorecording] / NBC News Productions E813 .N68 1990
  • (Between 1945 and 1950, the U.S. was on the summit of the world as 11 million G.I.s returned home, consumer production lines rolled, and a sense of renewed pride touched the nation).
• This fabulous century. By the editors of Time-Life Books. FOLIO E161 .T55 V. 5
• Timelines : day by day and trend by trend from the dawn of the Atomic Age to the Gulf War / Paul Dickson. E741 .D53 1991
• World War II in color [videorecording] / Transworld International co-production with Carlton ; D743.22 .W67 1999
• Working Americans, 1880-2006/ by Scott Derks Folio HD8066 .D47 2000

1950-1959

• The 1950s / William H. Young with Nancy K. Young. E169.12 .Y69 2004
• American Decades: 1950-1959 Ref E169.12 .A419 1994
• The American dream: the 50s / by the editors of Time-Life Books, Ref E813 .A766 1998
• The Cold War comes to Main Street : America in 1950 / Lisle A. Rose E813 .R56 1999
• David Halberstam's the fifties [videorecording] / the History Channel. E169.O2 H344 1997
• Deliberate speed : the origins of a cultural style in the American 1950s / W.T. Lhamon, Jr. E169.12 .L49 1990
• The Fabulous fifties / edited by Arleen Keylin. FOLIO E169.02 .F32
• The fifties / by Peter Lewis. CB425 .L38 1978
• Rock & roll generation : teen life in the 50s / by the editors of Time-Life Books ; Ref E169.12 .R586 1998
• This fabulous century. By the editors of Time-Life Books. FOLIO E161 .T55 V. 6
• Timelines : day by day and trend by trend from the dawn of the Atomic Age to the Gulf War / Paul Dickson. E741 .D53 1991
• Working Americans, 1880-2006/ by Scott Derks Folio HD8066 .D47 2000

1960-1969

• 60s : all-American ads / edited by Jim Heimann NC998.5.A1 A65 2002
• The 1960s / Edward J. Rielly. E169.12 .R53 2003
• The ABC-CLIO companion to the 1960s counterculture in America / Neil A. Hamilton. Ref E169.02 .H315 1997
• American Decades: 1960-1969 Ref E169.12 .A419 1994
• Change, change [videorecording] / senior executive producer E741 .W34 v.19 (the 60’s)
• The Fabulous sixties [videorecording] / Hobel-Leiterman Production ; a Document Associates Production. HN59 .F32 1980
  • (A year-by-year review of the major events, personalities, cultural and social trends, and business and sports achievements of the tumultuous 1960's.)
• Imagine nation : the American counterculture of the 1960s and '70s / edited by Peter Braunstein and Michael William Doyle. E839.4 .I46 2002
• Making sense of the sixties [videorecording] / a production of WETA in association with Varied HN59 .M34 1991
• That memorable year, 1963 [videorecording] New York, N.Y. : Media Access Corporation, c1988. HN59 .T51 1988
• That memorable year, 1968 [videorecording] New York, N.Y. : Media Access Corporation, c1988. HN59 .T52 1988
• Sixties going on seventies. E839.4 .S29 1973
• The sixties in America / editor, Carl Singleton ; Ref E841 .S55 1999
• Sixties people / Jane and Michael Stern. E841 .S74 1990
• The sixties : years of hope, days of rage / Todd Gitlin. E741 .G57 1993
• This fabulous century. By the editors of Time-Life Books. FOLIO E161 .T55 V. 7
• Timelines : day by day and trend by trend from the dawn of the Atomic Age to the Gulf War / Paul Dickson. E741 .D53 1991
• The Times in review: 1960-1969 ; a New York times decade book. Introd. by Clifton Daniel.
• Turbulent years : the 60s / by the editors of Time-Life Books Ref E841 .T78 1998
• Working Americans, 1880-2006/ by Scott Derks Folio HD8066 .D47 2000

1970-1979

• 70s : all-American ads / edited by Jim Heimann ; with an introduction by Steven Heller. NC998.5.A1 A153 2004
• American Decades: 1970-1979 Ref E169.12 .A419 1994
• America in the seventies / edited by Beth Bailey & David Farber. E855 .A79 2004
• Disco divas : women and popular culture in the 1970s / edited by Sherrie A. Inness. HQ1421 .D57 2003
• Hearts and minds [videorecording] / Touchstone-Audjeff Production for BBS.
  DS557.72 .H42 1991 (Examines the American consciousness that led to involvement in Vietnam)
• Imagine nation : the American counterculture of the 1960s and '70s / edited by Peter Braunstein and Michael William Doyle. E839.4 .I46 2002
• Time of transition: the 70s / by the editors of Time-Life Books ; Ref E839 .T54 1998
• Timelines : day by day and trend by trend from the dawn of the Atomic Age to the Gulf War / Paul Dickson. E741 .D53 1991
• Working Americans, 1880-2006/ by Scott Derks Folio HD8066 .D47 2000

1980-1989

• 80s : All-American Ads / edited By Jim Heimann ; With An Introduction By Steven Heller. NC998.5.A1 A154 2005
• American Decades: 1980-1989 Ref E169.12 .A419 1994
• Generation of swine : tales of shame and degradation in the '80s / Hunter S. Thompson. E876 .T48 1988
• Pride and prosperity, the 80s / by the editors of Time-Life Books Ref 876 .P745 1999
• Timelines : day by day and trend by trend from the dawn of the Atomic Age to the Gulf War / Paul Dickson. E741 .D53 1991
• Working Americans, 1880-2006/ by Scott Derks Folio HD8066 .D47 2000

1990-1999

• American Decades: 1990-1999 Ref E169.12 .A419 1994
• The digital decade--the 90s / by the editors of Time-Life Books Ref E881 .D54 2000
• Working Americans, 1880-2006/ by Scott Derks Folio HD8066 .D47 2000

Cold War;
Depressions 1929 United States;
Korean War 1950 1953;
Nineteen Tens;
Nineteen Fifties;
Nineteen Hundreds (Decade)
Nineteen Thirties.
United States History 1961 1969 ;
United States History 1865-1898.
United States -- Social history ;
United States --History—20th Century ;
Vietnamese Conflict 1961 1975
World War 1939 1945;

African Americans in popular culture
Children in popular culture
Crime in popular culture
Gays in popular culture
Education in popular culture
Fads
Food in popular culture
Masculinity in popular culture
Masculinity in popular culture
Mass media and sports
Popular literature
Racism in popular culture
Sex in popular culture
Success in popular culture
Women in popular culture
Popular culture in art
Popular culture in literature

General Sources

• American national biography / general editors, John A. Garraty, Mark C. Carnes Ref CT213 .A68 1999
• American writers; a collection of literary biographies. Leonard Unger, editor in chief Ref PS129 .A55 1974
• Abridged biography and genealogy master index : a consolidated index to more than 2,150,000 biographical sketches from over 260 selected current and retrospective biographical dictionaries indexed in Biography and genealogy master index through 1994 / Barbara McNeil, editor. Ref CT214.U5 B572 1995
• Book review digest. Ref Z1219 .C96
• Contemporary Authors. Ref Z1224 .C62
• Dictionary of American biography / under the auspices of the American council of learned societies. Ref E176 .D56

Online Biographical Resources