ERIC - The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world’s largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.
Education Research Complete - Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,300 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,400 journals. This database also includes full text for nearly 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
EducationFull Text (EBSCO) - Education Full Text (EBSCO interface)comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles, with indexing cover to cover. Coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text). Included are up-to-date subject headings keeping pace with contemporary changing issues and terminology. PDF page images accompany full text articles, offering both words and images.
When you are looking for a particular journal or magazine, always check the Otterbein A-Z List to see if we have it. If we don't have the journal you need, remember that you can always do Interlibrary Loan to get the article.
Boolean Logic
Using the power of the AND OR NOT "Boolean operators" in between your searching terms enriches the quality of the information you find.
globalization AND economy = The search engine will find articles about BOTH these terms
children OR teens = use OR with synonyms to broaden the number of hits
children NOT adults = using NOT before a word will exclude a term narrowing the number of hits
Wildcard Symbol: Using the Asterisk * after a search term tells the database to look for several variations of words. For example global* will search for global, globalized, globalization. Wom* will search for women, woman... some databases use the ! exclamation point for the wildcard symbol.