Skip to Main Content

EDUC 5380: Literacies for Young Adolescents

Access to library resources as well as information relevant to the topics discussed in EDUC 5380.

Author Information

Beacham’s Guide to Literature for Young Adults—16 volumes Ref Z 1037. A1 B 38 1989.

  • This resource alphabetically lists the most important YA fiction books by title. With each title, a biography of the author is provided.

Biography Index—3 volumes Z 5301. B5 (1946-present).

  • Biographical lists by occupation (for example, authors)

Contemporary Authors—128 volumes Ref Z 1224. C62.

  • Reliable information about a large number of writers.

Oxford Reference Online (through online dictionaries and encyclopedias):

  • Comprehensive encyclopedia of literature & authors, including YA literature

 Something About the Author—139 volumes (1971-2003).

  • Comprehensive resource for authors, including some YA authors.

The Young Adult Reader’s Adviser Ref PN 1009. A1 Y674 1992.

  • This two-volume thematically-structured work provides short biographies for the included authors.

The Newbery and Caldecott awards: a guide to the medal and honor books/ Association for Library Services to Children. Ref PN 1009. A1 N49 2006.

  • A guide to the fiction books awarded with the Newbury and Caldecott awards—up to age 14.

Indexes:

Biography Index—3 volumes Z 5301. B5 (1946-present).

  • Biographical lists by occupation (for example, authors)

Humanities Index Periodicals (1974-1998)

  • Offers timely access to literary subjects, including YA literature, with a book review section at the end of each volume.

Literature Guides

Beacham’s Guide to Literature for Young Adults—14 volumes Ref Z 1037. A1 B 38 1989.

  • This resource alphabetically lists the most important YA fiction books by title and also provides summaries.

Best Books for Junior High Readers. Ref Z 1037. B546 1991.

  • An excellent index of YA fiction and non-fiction organized thematically.

Bookfinder or the Best of Bookfinder. Ref Z 1037. A1 D67825 1992

  • has a great subject index and each title is annotated with suggested ages.

The Horn Book Guide Ref Z 1037. H67.

  • Published twice a year, this source provides a nice selection of fiction and non-fiction by grade level.

Twentieth-century Literary Criticism Ref PN94. T83 1978-2004.

  • This 148-volume work provides a comprehensive collection of critical excerpts on 20th century literature, including YA literature.

The Young Adult Reader’s Adviser Ref PN 1009. A1 Y674 1992.

  • This two-volume work groups YA literature thematically.
Subjects: Education