LibGuides: English Department Research Guide: General Sources

Indexes & Catalogues

ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from over 12,000 journals.
OHIOLINK Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 24 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses. In 2012, patrons downloaded over 1.5 million full-text articles in OhioLINK’s collection. Content is funded through a combination of OhioLINK central funds and member library contributions.
WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new window
Otterbein specific version of WorldCat. Locate books, journals and magazines, music scores, archival materials, and media in libraries worldwide. You can also access WorldCat through FirstSearch, which has more advanced searching features or through WorldCat.org, the free version based on your location.

Oxford English Dictionary
2nd ed. is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Oxford Reference Online
searches across 46 dictionary, language reference, and subject literary reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource.