LibGuides: Environmental Science: Find Articles

OneSearch

Search for Articles, Books & More

Web of Science
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
Oxford Reference, History
Electronic reference books on History.
JStor
JSTOR archives and provides access to archival and current issues of more than 1,400 scholarly journals across more than 50 academic disciplines and includes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, primary source materials, and, launching in 2012, books.

Check out this guide from Washington State University to learn more about primary and secondary sources.

Remember these guidelines when you search:

Treat your initial strategy as a hypothesis.

a. Your first strategy is a guess about how authors and indexers will describe the topic. There will be vocabulary problems you haven't anticipated.

Browse your initial results to find other approaches to the search

a. Give serendipity a chance

b. View complete records. Make sure you have displayed all the fields in the records.

Try several alternate strategies.

a. As you browse records you will probably see more than one approach to searching the topic.

b. Take the time to try each strategy, then pool the results at the end.

c. Don't be lazy! A properly conducted search will save time in the long run.

Access Science
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and Dictionary of Scientific & Technical terms. SCIENCE
more...less...
The new generation of AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology; with 7,000+ articles and 115,000 definitions.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Thousands of e-book titles from over 100 publishers searchable by keyword or subject.
Oxford Reference Library
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf Full text of over 34 dictionaries and encyclopedias on a variety of subjects, purchased from Oxford University Press. These titles are also available through the OhioLINK Electronic Books Center.