LibGuides: FYS 1054: History of Rock n Roll: Finding Articles

Database List

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of writings about music featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It covers over 840,000 publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects. Coverage begins in 1967 and extends to the present.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Access to Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a comprehensive compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music. This is a subset of Oxford Music Online.

Newspaper sources

New York Times This link opens in a new window The major newspaper for New York City and for US News. This resource is only available for individuals with an Otterbein email address.
How to get in:
For more detailed information on your NYtimes see this guide.
New User? This link takes you directly to the New York Times home page. On the right hand side is a box that says login.
- Click the login box
- At the bottom of the box click on the link : Continue with work or school single sign-on >
- Enter your work or school email
- Enter your password
- Enter the code from the Authenticator
- Continue setting up. You'll get a welcome screen stating you get access from Otterbein University
- Choose which newsletters you'd like to access, or hit continue in the bottom right corner
- Scan the QR code if you want the app on your phone, or hit continue in the bottom right corner (App will need to be logged in separately)
Returning User?
If you already have an account through your Otterbein email you can also login to update your access as Single Sign On (SSO) and get what is known as an academic pass.
Follow the instructions listed above.
Notes:
Single Sign-On (SSO) for members of Otterbein University permits you to use a single ID/password to access multiple related, yet independent, software systems.
Please note, the mobile app will require you to log into the system and doesn't have a direct login but you will be able to log in using your account.
If you already have a personal account: You can keep that account since it may have greater access to the NY Times site than the account you'll have through Otterbein. However, you can create a second account through Otterbein if you wish.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Major national newspaper with strong business coverage. Access available back to 1998. This resource is only available for individuals with an Otterbein email address.
How to get in:
To gain full access to this site you will first need to register with your Otterbein email. Use this link to set up your access.
Once set up, you will log into WSJ to access the site. You can also access the app.
Students: enter your graduation year.
Faculty/Staff: you'll need to renew your membership annually.

Current Subscribers: Before you can create an Otterbein account you will need to contact customer service (1-800-568-7625 or email bottom of page) to cancel your current subscription.