LibGuides: FYS 1073: The Evolution of Health Promotion: Community, Charity, & Consumerism: Health Statistics & Data

Places to Start

Sage Data Foundations This link opens in a new window
Access to statistics compiled between 2017-2021. This is a curated collection of United States statistics; compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, sociology, political science, education, international studies, criminal justice, and many more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 250 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The product is aimed at business clients and academics of any size.

FAOSTAT Data
Produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, this site provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
OECD Health Data
Contains data on health expenditure, health care resources, health care activities, mortality, and risk factors for OECD member nations
World Bank Health Stats
Statistics from the World Bank.
World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO provides internationally focused health statistics including data on mortality, diseases, country statistics, and health systems.

Data and Statistics - Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS)
Includes national health care indicators and expenditures (aggregate national health care spending); Medicare enrollment (aged, disabled, all), utilization, and expenditure; DRG data for short-stay hospitals; Medicare Chartbook; Data Compendium (Annual compilation of national health care data); Medicaid data.
Health Insurance Data
Compiled by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. Site links to Current Population Survey reports and tables, including health insurance coverage, children's health insurance, low-income uninsured children by state, and detailed historical tables (1987- ).
Medicare
Produced by the Kaiser Family Foundation.
State of Health Care Quality Report
Contains plan-specific information on clinical performance, accreditation and member satisfaction from 273 organizations, collectively covering some 63.3 million lives, that voluntarily submitted their performance results to the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) .
The Uninsured
Produced by the Kaiser Family Foundation. Includes data on topics related to the uninsured.

America's Health Rankings
Produced by the United Health Foundation, "America's Health Rankings presents a yearly 'top ten' list of healthiest, and least healthiest, states based on health status indicators, such as: access to primary care, high school degree attainment, smoking, activity level, etc.
County Health Rankings
Provides county-by-county health rankings in each of the 50 states, explanations of each health factor, and actionable strategies to improve the health of communities across the nation.
Health, United States
Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes, and an index. Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics.
Ohio Department of Health
Vital statistics and reports on health topics relating to the state of Ohio
State Health Facts
State health statistics from the Kaiser Foundation.