Some fiction books & films found in the Otterbein library are listed for each country below. However, this is not an exhaustive list.
In order to find other fiction books in the OPAL catalog or in the OhioLINK catalog related to a country or region, do a keyword search using the name of the country and the word "fiction." For example: Egypt and fiction
Films:
Fiction:
Films:
Fiction:
Mine Boy, by Peter Abrahams (1970) - This is a novel of violence, death, and the appalling conditions in the mines of South Africa set in the crucial years of the middle twentieth century when apartheid was becoming entrenched in the South African legal system.
A Dry White Season, by Andre Brink (1979) - This is the story of a white South African teacher investigating the death of a friend which occurred while the latter was in police custody.
Waiting for the Barbarians, by J.M. Coetzee (1980) - A magistrate in the outer territories comes to identify with the tortured victims of the government he serves.
Foe, by J.M. Coetzee (1987) - An allegorical fable about a woman marooned on an island in the Atlantic Ocean.
From the Heart of the Country, by J.M. Coetzee (1977) - A tale of obsession and revenge set in rural South Africa.
Life & Times of Michael K, by J.M. Coetzee (1983) - The story of a young man unwillingly caught up in a war in South Africa.
Burger's Daughter, by Nadine Gordimer (1980) - This is the story of a daughter of a martyr to the anti-apartheid cause who can't be so dedicated herself.
The Conservationist, by Nadine Gordimer (1978) - This novel provides a convincing portrait of an Afrikaner industrialist -- a man at once ambitious, cynical, sensual, and sharply observant.
A Guest of Honour, by Nadine Gordimer (1970) - James Bray, an English colonial administrator who was expelled from a central African nation for siding with its black nationalist leaders, is invited back ten years later to join the country's independence movement.
The House Gun, by Nadine Gordimer (1998) - A complex narrative of human relationships and violent behavior.
July's People, by Nadine Gordimer (1981) - A household servant rescues the white family he works for when the city becomes a battleground.
Jump and Other Stories, by Nadine Gordimer (1991) - This collection of stories is set in South Africa, Mozambique, and England.
The Late Bourgeois World, by Nadine Gordimer (1966) - This is a story of a turbulent time -- of South Africa in transition -- and of one man's disgrace.
My Son's Story, by Nadine Gordimer (1990) - This is the story of the adolescent son of a teacher of mixed race who works for the "real blacks" but falls in love with a blond, blue-eyed woman.
Occasion for Loving, by Nadine Gordimer (1963) - This is the story of an interracial relationship during the time of apartheid in South Africa.
Six Feet of the Country, by Nadine Gordimer (1983) - This collection of seven stories distills the essence of what happened in South Africa as the apartheid system was challenged.
Something Out There, by Nadine Gordimer (1984) - This is a collection of short stories dealing with the personal and political aspects of the divided society in South Africa.
A Sport of Nature, by Nadine Gordimer (1987) - A white woman falls in love with a black revolutionary who becomes the first black president of South Africa.
A World of Strangers, by Nadine Gordimer (1958) - This is the story of friendship between an embittered young African and a young Englishman set in Johannesburg.
A Question of Power, by Bessie Head (1986) - This novel follows the story of a woman living in a Botswanan village who must confront the edges of sanity.
When Rain Clouds Gather, by Bessie Head (1968) - This novel provides a vivid account of village life in Botswana while exploring the relationship between an Englishman and an embittered black South African who try to change the traditional farming methods of the community. A refugee from South Africa's apartheid system also faces discrimination from other blacks.
A Separate Development, by Christopher Hope (1981) - A white Catholic teenager realizes that he is dark enough to be considered "coloured" under South Africa's rigid system of racial classification.
A Walk in the Night and Other Stories, by Alex LaGuma (1967) - This is a collection of short stories about life in South Africa.
Fiela's Child, by Dalene Matthee (1986) - The story of two families struggling for possession of one child in 19th century South Africa.
God's Stepchildren, by Sarah Gertrude Millin (1924) - This is the story of several generations of a mixed race family in nineteenth century South Africa.
Cry the Beloved Country, by Alan Payton (1948) - The protagonist is a Zulu parson, and the novels traces his journey into Johannesburg's underworld in search of his son.
Too Late the Phalarope, by Alan Payton (1953) - The protagonist is an Afrikaner policeman, and the novel conveys the full tragedy of the Immorality Act -- the law forbidding sex between races.
To Every Birth Its Blood, by Mongane Serote (1981) - This novel provides a poignant indictment of South Africa's treatment and exploitation of its black majority.
Muriel at Metropolitan, by Miriam Tlali (1987) - This is the story of the daily life of a black typist in a furniture and electronics store for poor whites and blacks. The novel contains gentle humor and provides detail about life on the fringes of white South African society.
Fiction:
Films:
Fiction: