Art with Studio Concentration

When is it ok to use copyrighted images in your creative and academic work? The College Art Association (CAA) has compiled a list of best practices for students, professors, writers, artists and art professionals to use in their work.

Identifying processes in documentary filmmaking that qualify as fair use.

"Whether you’re are a teacher, student, or lifelong learner, MoMA Learning is your destination for tools and strategies for engaging with modern and contemporary art."

Part of OpenArtstor " a rich and varied selection from their holdings, incorporating more than 10,000 years of history and iconic objects from across the globe. It includes works from Nicolas Poussin to Mary Cassatt, precious jewels and scrolls from China, Japanese screens and kimonos, African and Native American ritual attire and objects, pre-Columbian gold, photography and much more from the leading museum established in 1913 “for the benefit of all the people forever."

Collaborative Index of 1.2 million bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007

GOV Resource: More than just images, the NGA includes links to teacher resources, podcasts, and lectures.

Over 100,000 images, as well as podcasts and other resources.

The digital archive features examples from over forty countries with the earliest U.S. stickers from the Industrial Workers of the World - known as “stickerettes” or “silent agitators” - dating to the 1910s.

Nearly 2,000 multiples, hand-made book objects, limited edition books, and zines dating from the mid-1960’s to present.

GOV. RESOURCE: Many available images, it includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings.

This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Luna Commons is a database of sixteen free digital image collections. There are over 100,000 images all available for download in good resolution

Use this search as a way to find resources that can be remixed or reused. You can even find images that can be used for commercial purposes.

Access to over 2 million images. Option to have high-resolution images sent to you as long as they're for educational use.