BEAM is an acronym intended to help students think about the various ways we might use sources when writing a researched argument. Joseph Bizup, an English professor at Boston University.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance provides full text of journal articles on all aspects of theater and performance, plus indexing for books, book articles and dissertation abstracts. IBTD with Full Text is a multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool for theater students, educators and professionals. IBTD was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research and continued by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals.
Portal to Web of Science, the renowned citation database, and other high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Questions about the article on its own:
When compiling an annotated bibliography, ask yourself the following questions about potential sources:
Does it matter if this article is recent? If so, how current is it?
Who is the author? What else have they published? Is their research affiliated with an institution or other entity?
Who published this? (Can include the academic journal, a sponsoring or owning organization, the editorial board of the journal, etc.)
What is the purpose of this article? (See BEAM method)
Questions about the article in context:
How does this resource relate to other research?
Who is cited? What is the purpose of citing these others?
Is this research cited by others? What is the context for this article's citation?
Does this information compare or contrast with other research on similar topics? Does it fill in any gaps or raise new questions?