LibGuides: FYS 1090 The Creative Habit: Articles for You

Databases

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
This is the main search box on the library's home page. Also known as a discovery layer, this searches broadly across most of the library databases and some select open access resources.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 250 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The product is aimed at business clients and academics of any size.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Portal to Web of Science, the renowned citation database, and other high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Citation test your knowledge

In this APA citation, what is the title of the journal?

Longmuir, P., Brothers, J., D, Hayman, L., F, Matherne, ,., & ... McCrindle, B. (2013). Promotion of physical activity for children and adults with congenital heart disease: a scientific statement from the american heart association. Circulation, 127(21), 2147-2159. doi:10.1161/CIR.0b013e318293688f

Citation

Hayman, L.: 0 votes (0%)

Promotion of physical activity for children and adults...: 1 votes (100%)

Circulation: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 1

Newspaper Resources

New York Times This link opens in a new window The major newspaper for New York City and for US News. 
How to get in:
For more detailed information on your NYtimes see this guide.
New User? This link takes you directly to the New York Times home page. On the right hand side is a box that says login.
- Click the login box
- At the bottom of the box click on the link : Continue with work or school single sign-on >
- Enter your work or school email
- Enter your password
- Enter the code from the Authenticator
- Continue setting up. You'll get a welcome screen stating you get access from Otterbein University
- Choose which newsletters you'd like to access, or hit continue in the bottom right corner
- Scan the QR code if you want the app on your phone, or hit continue in the bottom right corner (App will need to be logged in separately)
Returning User?
If you already have an account through your Otterbein email you can also login to update your access as Single Sign On (SSO) and get what is known as an academic pass.
Follow the instructions listed above.
Notes:
Single Sign-On (SSO) for members of Otterbein University permits you to use a single ID/password to access multiple related, yet independent, software systems.
Please note, the mobile app will require you to log into the system and doesn't have a direct login but you will be able to log in using your account.
If you already have a personal account: You can keep that account since it may have greater access to the NY Times site than the account you'll have through Otterbein. However, you can create a second account through Otterbein if you wish.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Columbus Dispatch, Plain Dealer, USA Today and international sources.

Note: licensing terms excludes any use of Newsbank for fund raising, development, public relations, or communications.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Major national newspaper with strong business coverage. Access available back to 1998.
How to get in:
To gain full access to this site you will first need to register with your Otterbein email. Use this link to set up your access.
Once set up, you will log into WSJ to access the site. You can also access the app.
Students: enter your graduation year.
Faculty/Staff: you'll need to renew your membership annually.

Current Subscribers: Before you can create an Otterbein account you will need to contact customer service (1-800-568-7625 or email bottom of page) to cancel your current subscription.

FYS 1090 The Creative Habit

Databases

Citation test your knowledge

Newspaper Resources

How to get in:

How to get in: