Skip to Main Content

Transforming or Developing Courses with Backwards Design

What is Backwards Design

The three stages of Backward Design: 1) identify desired results, 2) determine acceptable evidence, 3) plan learning experiences and instruction.
From the book Understanding by Design (Wiggins & McTighe, 2006).

Key Resource

The Three Stages of Backwards Design

From Understanding by Design (Wiggins & McTighe, 2006):

  1. Identify desired results.
  2. Determine acceptable evidence.
  3. Plan learning experiences and instruction.

Books from the Library