LibGuides: Early Childhood Education: Education Websites

Library Tools that Support Early Learning and Literacy

Through the Libraries Connect Ohio (LCO) partnership, all Ohioans have access to a collection of information resources that support quality education, a skilled workforce, and lifelong learning in Ohio. Explore some of these great resources:

The Early Learning Portal
The Early Learning Portal gives parents and preschool teachers the tools to introduce children ages 3-5 to digital resources that help them build early literacy skills.

Explora Primary Schools This link opens in a new window
Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.

Go! Ask, Act, Achieve
GO! Ask, Act, Achieve guides children in grades 4-10 through the research and inquiry process, helping them develop essential information literacy skills such as asking questions, researching and exploring the LCO resources, synthesizing and using the information they find, and sharing their results.
Research 4 Success
Research 4 Success (R4S) helps high school and undergraduate college students develop information literacy skills while completing a research project in six manageable steps. In each step, students learn about the skills, practice their skills through a variety of learning activities, and master their skills through practical application.

Recommended K-12 Sites

K-12 Curriculum Web Sites

Advanced Placement Digital Library (Biology, Chemistry, Physics)
A collection of Internet resources that have been reviewed for educational merit in the Advanced Placement high school classroom. Sponsored by Rice University.
AOL@SCHOOL: Lesson Plans
Best of History Web Sites
Discovery.com Lesson Plan Library
EdSitement
Top humanities web sites for teaching English, history, art history, and foreign languages
Education World
Includes lesson plans, research materials, and articles of interest to educators.
EduPuppy
Resources for early childhood education (preschool-grade 2)
EduHound
Resources for K-12 education
FREE: Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
A gateway to federally supported education resources
GEM: The Gateway to Educational Materials
Provides one-stop access to a select group of lesson plans, curriculum units, and other education resources. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education's National Library of education.
Great Sites
A gateway to hundreds of specially selected web sites for parents, care givers, and teachers. Covers K-12 curriculum and hildren's literature. A project of the American Library Association
Lesson Plan Search
Lesson plans, teacher resources, thematic units
LessonPlanz.com
Preschool-grade 12 lesson plans and resources in all subjects
National Science Digital Library
Exemplary education resources in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
NSTA Recommends: The Best Science Education Resources
A searchable database of science teaching materials recommended by the National Science Teachers Association
Read, Write, Think

A reading, language arts, and literacy web site sponsored by the International Reading Association, the National Council of Teachers of English, and MarcoPolo.

Teachers Network
Lessons, curriculum guides, and activities for classroom online learning
TryScience
Science activities selected by over 400 science and technology centers worldwide. A project of IBM Corporation, the New York Hall of Science, the Association of Science-Technology Centers, and science centers worldwide.

Recommended Websites

Children's Literature Web Sites

Children's and Young Adults' Authors and Illustrators
Children's Literature Web Guide
A gateway to the best Internet resources related to books and resources
Children's Literature Program Book Review Service
Reviews from San Diego State University's Children's Literature Program
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature
Hans Christian Andersen Collection at Northwestern:
Children's Books From Around the World
International Children's Digital Library
A multilingual online collection of children's books from throughout the world.
The Lion and the Unicorn
Full text of this scholarly journal of children's literature and culture, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Literature for Children
The Baldwin Library for Historical Children's Literature
Picture Book Database
A searchable database of children's picture books, organized by topic, concept, and author/title/publisher.
Reading Online
Electronic journal on reading and literacy, published by the International Reading Association