LibGuides: NURS 6540: Complex/Chronic Illnesses: Finding Articles

OneSearch Portal

OneSearch - Search for Articles, Books & More

Finding Guidelines in Medical Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Evidence Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons are also included. To search for guidelines, type the topic (such as a condition, symptom, or clinical procedure) in the search box on the Advanced Search page. If you already know the name of the guideline, do a title search. Select "Practice Guidelines" from the "Publication Type" menu in the Advanced Search or Limits section.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is a comprehensive index for medical journals and provides full text for more than 1,370 journals. To search for guidelines, type the topic (such as a condition, symptom, or clinical procedure) in the search box on the Advanced Search page. If you already know the name of the guideline, do a title search. Select "Guideline" from the "Publication Type" menu in the Advanced Search or "Source Type" in Limits section.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed provides web access to bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, HealthSTAR, as well as publisher-Supplied citations.To search for practice guidelines in PubMed, type the topic (such as a condition, symptom, or clinical procedure) in the search box. -customize the search by limit the result to "Guideline" or "Practice Guideline" under Article types.

Finding Evidence Based Practice Articles

Search for Evidence-Based Research Articles
See Evidence-Based Practice Libguide for more tips on how to search for evidence-based literature.

Off-Campus Access

Did you know you can still access our resources if you are off campus?

To access databases from our home page, use your current Otterbein username and password (Home Page)
To access databases through OhioLINK, select Otterbein and use your library barcode number (16 digit number at bottom of cardinal card OR your Otterbein ID number including the A) (OhioLINK)

For troubleshooting, see the page linked here (Off Campus Access)

If you still have questions please contact a library staff member at 614.823.1984 or Library@otterbein.edu

Off Campus Access to Library Databases
Instruction on off-campus access to the library resources