LibGuides: NURS 7220-OL: Evidence-Based Practice/Informatics: Step 2: Acquire

Where to look for evidence based research articles

Where can you find evidence based Articles?

*A TIP: In any nursing/medical database library subscribes. or in the free listed resources starting with ACCESSSS

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
choose the advanced search screen, look under "Limit your results" and check the box "evidence based practice". You can also limit by publication type like : case study, Clinical Trial, Randomized Controlled Trial, Systematic Review, etc. Hold on Ctrl key to choose multiple. Also try Clinical Queries for Qualitative research.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is the “Gold Standard” for evidence-based practice information. The Cochrane Collaborative has stringently evaluated the research on specific practices, summarized the results, and drawn conclusions. They are best known for their systematic reviews.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index for medical journals and provides full text for more than 1,370 journals. MEDLINE is the official library version of PUBMED.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.

ACCESSSS
designed to find the best evidence-based answer to your clinical questions by simultaneously searching the leading evidence-driven medical publications and high quality clinical literature.
*A free account is required to access content and search appraised materials
BestBETs
BETs are designed specifically for Emergency Medicine.
Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS)
ePSS is an application designed to provide primary care clinicians and health care teams timely decision support regarding appropriate screening, counseling, and preventive services for their patients.
EvidenceAlerts
Quality articles from over 120 clinical journals are selected by research staff and then rated for clinical relevance and interest by an international group of physicians. Note: You must create a free account to search EvidenceAlerts.
Guide to Community Preventive Services
Systematic reviews of interventions in many topic areas to learn what works to promote public health.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)
Health Services Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT) is a free, electronic resource that provides access to the full-text of documents useful in health care decision making.
Pediatric Critical Care Evidence Based Medicine Journal Club
The PedsCCM Evidence-Based Journal Club will present critical reviews of clinical trials based upon The User's Guide to Medical Literature. Each review will be peer-reviewed by two of the PedsCCM EB Journal Club editors
The PICO Linguist (National Library of Medicine, NIH)
PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome) Linguist are multi-language tools for searching MEDLINE/PubMed.
Rational Clinical Exam (series from JAMA)
JAMA's groundbreaking series on evidence-based use of the medical history, physical examination, and testing to diagnosis disease.
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice)
The TRIP Database is a meta-search engine that searches across 61 EBM sites of high-quality medical information, including online journals such as the BMJ, JAMA, NEJM.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate clinical content is evidence-based and continuously updated by more than 6,300 leading physician-authors. Free UpToDate Mobile App for most leading devices.

Global Index Medicus
For broader non-US (and non-European) literature
Health Services Research (HSR) PubMed Queries
(National Library of Medicine) – Provides specialized PubMed searches on healthcare quality and costs.
Healthy People 2010 Information Access Project
(National Library of Medicine and the Public Health Foundation) – Provides specialized searches of the PubMed database to find research articles related to selected Healthy People 2010 objectives.
Healthy People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries
(National Library of Medicine) – Provides specialized searches of the PubMed database to find research articles related to selected Healthy People 2020 objectives.
NLM Resources for Informing Comparative Effectiveness
Provides specialized searches of published research - PubMed - and research still in progress - HSRProj, and ClinicalTrials.gov - to help inform investigations of comparative effectiveness.
Rayyan QCRI
Rayyan is a 100% FREE web application to help systematic review authors perform their job in a quick, easy and enjoyable fashion. Authors create systematic reviews, collaborate on them, maintain them over time and get suggestions for article inclusion.
Systematic Reviews Toolbox
The Systematic Review Toolbox is a web-based catalog of tools that support various tasks within the systematic review and wider evidence synthesis process. The toolbox aims to help researchers and reviewers find the following: Software tools; Quality assessment / critical appraisal checklists; Reporting standards; Guidelines.

OneSearch Portal

OneSearch - Search for Articles, Books & More

Evidence-Based Medicine Journals

ACP Journal Club
ACP Journal Club summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 130 clinical journals. (Use your otterbein network login for off-campus access)
Evidence-Based Nursing
This journal reviews research studies that are relevant to best nursing practice.
Peer Reviewed Evidence-Based Medicine Journals
Use your otterbein network login for off-campus access