Skip to Main Content

OneSearch: How to Use

A general guide on how to best use OneSearch.

What's Included

OneSearch is an aggregator, meaning this tool searches across a wide range of online resources offered by the library. The idea is to make it Google-like; one place to find a few good resources. This includes:

  • Any databases the library subscribes to. Examples: Cinhal, Academic Search Complete, Music Online, Kanopy
  • Any electronic journals the library subscribes to. Examples: Nature, JAMA 
  • Select open access materials. Example: Directory of Open Access Journals, HathiTrust

At the database level, approximately 90% of the library databases are included in OneSearch. 

Please note, while the following databases are indexed by OneSearch, they are not partner databases. This means they are not indexed as extensively. Essentially, Ebsco can look at the metadata of a partner database to better index their material. For a database that is not a partner, you will want to consider searching the following databases in their regular interface and not rely on OneSearch.

  • American Periodical Series
  • Bibliography of American Literature
  • British History Online
  • Cambridge Structural Database
  • Clase and Periodica
  • CQ Researcher
  • Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
  • Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK)
  • Factiva
  • JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiements
  • JSTOR -although many publishers have individual deals with Ebsco
  • Mergent
  • Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints
  • New York Times
  • Nexis Uni (law reviews are indexed)
  • Proquest Dissertations and Theses
  • Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source
  • Safari Tech Books
  • Scifinder
  • Statista

What's not Included

Unsubscribed databases are not available in OneSearch. Likewise, not all open access materials are available through OneSearch. Some collections are not indexed by the site. In other cases, the collections are not directly related to Otterbein majors, such as Index New Zealand. 

Finally, some databases that the library has access to are not indexed by Ebsco. Below is the list of databases we provide that are not part of OneSearch.

Not included:

  • African American Poetry 1760-1900
  • American Drama
  • American Poetry 1600-1900
  • Bird Sounds from the Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics
  • Dolphin Embryo Digitized Slides
  • Early American Fiction
  • Educational Films and Documentaries (OhioLINK DRC)
  • Eighteenth Century Fiction
  • Encyclopedia of Physics Demonstrations (OhioLINK)
  • English Prose Drama
  • English Verse Drama
  • Foreign Language Digital Videos (OhioLINK DRC)
  • Hoonuit
  • LandSat Images
  • Local Stats
  • Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications
  • National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
  • Sage Stats
  • Sanborn Historic Maps (OhioLINK DRC)
  • Saskia Art History Images (OhioLINK DRC)
  • Science Digital Media (OhioLINK DRC)
  • The Bible in English (OhioLINK EBC)
  • Transparent Language Online
  • U.S. Political Stats
  • UpToDate
  • William Butler Yeats Collection
  • WorldCat
  • 20th Century African American Poetry
  • 20th Century American Poetry
  • 20th Century English Poetry