BIO 2999: Biology & Earth Science Seminar II

Free Atlases in the data portal include the Mouse Brain , Developing Mouse Brain , Mouse Spinal Cord , Human Brain , Transgenic Mouse , Non-Human Primat e, and more. The portal is a growing collection of online public resources integrating extensive gene expression and neuroanatomical data, with a novel suite of search and viewing tools. For new and experienced users of the Allen Brain Atlas resources , view the Library of Tutorials for introductory overviews as well as guided tours focused on specific tools. Read more about the Allen Institute for Brain Science .

From the American Medical Association. Basic descriptions and illustrations of the human body's systems.

A thorough collection of links to web sites on anatomy. Perhaps the most useful section is the one named Anatomy Education: Students & Professionals but there is useful info all over this site.

Hundreds of microscopic images of animal and plant tissues.

This online encyclopedia is not full text but is good for citations and abstracts

Nice photos of the human skeleton. You can also see videos and additional info on each bone by using the menu on the detail photos. From the University of Texas. You can also see skeletons of other primates.

Human anatomy and physiology animations. Nicely done.

A great place to start a search for images of flora and fauna. Be sure an image is in the public domain!

An in-depth tutorial on brain anatomy. Includes brain atlas, glossary, and quizzes. From the University of Utah.

Interactive and educational views of the human body using animations and illustrations.

Interesting site on the human brain, including its structure. This is part of a series of sections. Also has other brain-related topics, especially relating to artificial intelligence.

Clear illustrations and brief descriptions of the muscles of humans. Divided into Upper and Lower Extremities. From the University of Washington

Nice interactive guide to the human nervous system. From the National Teachers of Science Assn.

Links for human anatomy and physiology specifically for nursing students.

Our subscription to ScienceDirect includes access to the full-text of over 200 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine. Additionally, abstract and bibliographic information is available for the entire database of 2500 journal titles, eBooks, reference works, handbooks, and book series.

Essentially an online textbook about the digestive system. Each section has an icon to show if it is basic, core information (an apple core) or more advanced (a professor). From Colorado State Unversity.

Self assessment tests on human anatomy. From the University of Minnesota.