BIO 2999: Biology & Earth Science Seminar II

This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Most comprehensive source of full text medical journals, providing full text for more than 1.470 journals indexed in Medline
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more
Used by medical professionals world-wide for the most up-to-date medical information
Best to use if looking for information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial
Search by MeSH (Medical Subject Headin

Med comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, Publife science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Usually the articles are not as recent as PubMed.

Titles Subscribed

Our subscription to ScienceDirect includes access to the full-text of over 200 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine. Additionally, abstract and bibliographic information is available for the entire database of 2500 journal titles, eBooks, reference works, handbooks, and book series.

The CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services. CDC′s Mission is to collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats; look here for the most current topics like the Haitian Earthquake or H1N1 flu.

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) is an agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, effectiveness, and security of human and veterinary drugs, vaccines and other biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, dietary supplements, etc.

The National Institutes of Health is an agency within the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Simply described, the goal of NIH research is to acquire new knowledge to help prevent, detect, diagnose, and treat disease and disability, from the rarest genetic disorder to the common cold. NIH works toward it's mission by: conducting research in its own laboratories; supporting the research of non-Federal scientists in universities, medical schools, hospitals, and research institutions

WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

Excerpts from American Journal of Bioethics, including tables of contents and some free full-text information on news and commentary on the subject.

Drugs.com is the most popular, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online. Providing free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products. Find helpful tools, wallet size personal medication records, mobile applications and more.

Free, web-based drug/disease information site for registered users. It features monographs on 3,500-plus brand, generic, and over-the-counter drugs; offers a drug-drug interaction tool; and provides a formulary checker for estimating drug costs. The Drug Information section is updated weekly by a clinical team and editors. The Disease Information section has overviews of conditions, treatment approaches, test suggestions, and guidelines.