LibGuides: Sustainability: Databases

Useful eResources

Sustainability is an interdisciplinary topic, which means you can find useful research articles, background information, and data in a variety of databases. Simply scan this list for the type of information you are seeking.

For starting points on broad topics related to sustainability

CQ Researcher provides background information on controversial social and environmental topics.
Academic Search Complete covers all disciplines and includes full-text that you can narrow by peer-reviewed articles

To find scientific topics related to sustainability, use the Library’s Science eResources and Social Science eResources.
- Access Science: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and Dictionary of Scientific & Technical terms
- GreenFILE provides indexing and abstracts for articles related to "green" topics.
- SocINDEX covers social science research, including sociology, anthropology, and criminal justice.

For business topics related to sustainability, use the Library's Business eResources.
- EconLit covers more than 700 titles in economics.
- Business Source Complete provides full-text access to articles on business, management, economics, and more.

Open Access Journals

Open access journals are scholarly journals that are freely available to anyone online. You can find a listing of these journals in the Directory of Open Access at www.doaj.org. Here are a few related to sustainability topics:

Ecology and Society: A Journal of Integrative Science for Resilience and Sustainability
Multidisciplinary journal "concerned with the relationship between society and the life-supporting ecosystems on which human wellbeing ultimately depends."
Electronic Green Journal
"A professional peer-reviewed publication devoted to disseminating information concerning environmental protection, conservation, management of natural resources, and ecologically-balanced regional development."
Sustainability
"Journal of environmental, cultural, economic and social sustainability of human beings."
Sustainability: Science, Practice, & Policy
"A forum for cross-disciplinary discussion of empirical science as well as practice and policy developments related to sustainability."

Help

Ask a Librarian
Ask your questions via chat/IM, email, phone, or in person.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that enables current Otterbein faculty, staff, and students to borrow item(s) from another library.
One Search
OneSearch searches all databases, journals, books and ebooks that the library has in its catalog or has access to.

Off-Campus Access

Most databases are accessible remotely from off-campus. However, only current Otterbein faculty, staff, and students have privileges to access the databases. Restrictions are due to licensing and subscription agreements with vendors and publishers.

Remote access to Library databases requires logging in with your Network ID and password.

If you are experiencing trouble connecting to a database, please contact the Reference Desk (library@otterbein.edu) or Circulation 614.823.1215.