Middle Childhood Education

Education Web Sites

• Child Trends
  Data and information of children, youth, and families.
• Content Knowledge
  Standards and benchmarks for K-12 education
• Developing Educational Standards
  An annotated list of Internet sites with K-12 educational standards and curriculum framework documents
• Distance Education Clearing House
  A source for national and international information on distance education
• Clearinghouse on Educational Policy and Management
  College of Education, University of Oregon
• Educator's Reference Desk
• Illinois School Reform Resource Locator
  Covers Illinois and national school reform initiatives
• K-12 School Sites
• National Institute for Urban School Improvement
  Annotated references to research and information on urban information
• netLibrary
  A collection of electronic books in education and other subject areas.
• School Psychology Resources Online
  School psychology resources for parents and educators. Covers the areas of learning disabilities, behavior problems, psychological assessment, special education, and more.
• U.S. Department of Education 
  Includes full text documents, searchable collections, and links to other education sites

K-12 Curriculum Web Sites

• Advanced Placement Digital Library (Biology, Chemistry, Physics)
  A collection of Internet resources that have been reviewed for educational merit in the Advanced Placement high school classroom. Sponsored by Rice University.
• AOL@SCHOOL: Lesson Plans
• Best of History Web Sites
• Discovery.com Lesson Plan Library
• EdSitement
  Top humanities web sites for teaching English, history, art history, and foreign languages
• Education World
  Includes lesson plans, research materials, and articles of interest to educators.
• EduPuppy
  Resources for early childhood education (preschool-grade 2)
• EduHound
  Resources for K-12 education
• FREE: Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
  A gateway to federally supported education resources
• GEM: The Gateway to Educational Materials
  Provides one-stop access to a select group of lesson plans, curriculum units, and other education resources. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education's National Library of education.
• Great Sites
  A gateway to hundreds of specially selected web sites for parents, care givers, and teachers. Covers K-12 curriculum and hildren's literature. A project of the American Library Association
• Lesson Plan Search
  Lesson plans, teacher resources, thematic units
• LessonPlanz.com
  Preschool-grade 12 lesson plans and resources in all subjects
• National Science Digital Library
  Exemplary education resources in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
• NSTA Recommends: The Best Science Education Resources
  A searchable database of science teaching materials recommended by the National Science Teachers Association
• Read, Write, Think

A reading, language arts, and literacy web site sponsored by the International Reading Association, the National Council of Teachers of English, and MarcoPolo.

• Teachers Network
  Lessons, curriculum guides, and activities for classroom online learning
• TryScience
  Science activities selected by over 400 science and technology centers worldwide. A project of IBM Corporation, the New York Hall of Science, the Association of Science-Technology Centers, and science centers worldwide.

Children's Literature Web Sites

• Children's and Young Adults' Authors and Illustrators
• Children's Literature Web Guide
  A gateway to the best Internet resources related to books and resources
• Children's Literature Program Book Review Service
  Reviews from San Diego State University's Children's Literature Program
• Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature
• Hans Christian Andersen Collection at Northwestern:
  Children's Books From Around the World
• International Children's Digital Library
  A multilingual online collection of children's books from throughout the world.
• The Lion and the Unicorn
  Full text of this scholarly journal of children's literature and culture, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
• Literature for Children
  The Baldwin Library for Historical Children's Literature
• Picture Book Database
  A searchable database of children's picture books, organized by topic, concept, and author/title/publisher.
• Reading Online
  Electronic journal on reading and literacy, published by the International Reading Association

Higher Education

• American Association for Adult and Continuing Education
• American Council on Education
• Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges
• Futures Project:
  Policy for Higher Education in a Changing World
• Higher Education Resource Hub
• Institute for Higher Education Policy
• Internet Resources for Higher Education Outcomes Assessment
• National Association of College and University Business Officers
• National Center for Postsecondary Improvement at Stanford
• Society for College and University Planning
• U.S. Department of Education
• U.S. Department of Education Publications
• Web U.S. Higher Education
  Links to regionally-accredited institutions of higher education in the U.S.