LibGuides: Music: Music Articles

Music Databases

Research for articles or listen to music in some of these specialized databases.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Access to Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources.

Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. The growing collection of 60,000-plus tracks includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, standard and rare repertoire.
Citizen DJ
This resource also links out to the Library of Congress's National Jukebox collection. LOC online collections include both primary and secondary materials about U.S. Music History.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarship published in more than 2,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. JSTOR is an archival database providing complete runs of back issues. Issues published in the last 3-5 years are not usually available.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of writings about music featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It covers over 840,000 publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects. Coverage begins in 1967 and extends to the present.

New York Times Access

New York Times This link opens in a new window
The major newspaper for New York City and for US News.
How to get in:
For more detailed information on your NYtimes see this guide.
New User? This link takes you directly to the New York Times home page. On the right hand side is a box that says login.
- Click the login box
- At the bottom of the box click on the link : Continue with work or school single sign-on >
- Enter your work or school email
- Enter your password
- Enter the code from the Authenticator
- Continue setting up. You'll get a welcome screen stating you get access from Otterbein University
- Choose which newsletters you'd like to access, or hit continue in the bottom right corner
- Scan the QR code if you want the app on your phone, or hit continue in the bottom right corner (App will need to be logged in separately)
Returning User?
If you already have an account through your Otterbein email you can also login to update your access as Single Sign On (SSO) and get what is known as an academic pass.
Follow the instructions listed above.
Notes:
Single Sign-On (SSO) for members of Otterbein University permits you to use a single ID/password to access multiple related, yet independent, software systems.
Please note, the mobile app will require you to log into the system and doesn't have a direct login but you will be able to log in using your account.
If you already have a personal account: You can keep that account since it may have greater access to the NY Times site than the account you'll have through Otterbein. However, you can create a second account through Otterbein if you wish.

Music

Music Databases

New York Times Access

How to get in: