LibGuides: INST 2910 Global Sport Diplomacy: Marketing & Events Planning

Market Analysis

Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel is a market intelligence agency that provides market analysis, competitive intelligence, product intelligence and, expert synthesis into easily understood market reports.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Nielsen Insights
Nielsen, a leading global information & measurement company, provides market research, insights & data about what people watch, listen to & buy. Insights analyzes consumer trends, behaviors and activities, giving brands, publishers, marketers and agencies the inside track on how to engage with people across screens, stores and platforms.
New Strategist Publications: "Who's buying What?" series
Who's buying by What" by: age, gender, product, activity, demographics, etc. Statistical data is compiled from: the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Census Bureau, the National Center for Education Statistics, the National Center for Health Statistics, and the Federal Reserve Board.

RKMA Market Research Handbook Series
From Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA):business reference handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
When reseraching a company or industry, it is helpful to know its NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) code which identifies the products or services that the company/industry provides. Many of the databases listed below can then be searched by NAICS codes.

Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel is a market intelligence agency that provides market analysis, competitive intelligence, product intelligence and, expert synthesis into easily understood market reports.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.

US Census American FactFinder
Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about communities.
State and County Quick Facts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing statistical survey that samples a small percentage of the population every year -- giving communities the information they need to plan investments and services.
American Time Use Survey
The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
MarketingCharts
MarketingCharts is first and foremost a hub of marketing data, graphics, and analyses.
County Business Patterns
This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.

The marketing Plan-On-a-Page template

Developing Successful Sport Marketing Plans by David K. Stotlar
Call Number: GV716 .S737 2013
ISBN: 9781935412557
Publication Date: 2013-07-01

Sport Marketing Guide
Special Event Planning and Management
Information Creation as a Process
This video looks at the information cycle and how it impacts the availability of resources on a topic.