LibGuides: Music: Music Business

Books on Music & Business

The Music and Audio Connection
A resource for music enthusiasts, musicians, music and audio professionals ranging from record companies, music education programs, music associations and much more
Rolling Stone
A web page for Rolling Stone magazine, deals with the music business and the popular music industry

Music Business Trade Associations:

American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP)
A non-profit music performing rights organization, representing songwriters and music publishers
Broadcast Music Incorporated (BMI)
A non-profit music performing rights organization, representing songwriters and music publishers
Harry Fox Agency
A music agency established in 1927 representing composers, publishers, and songwriters worldwide
Music Publishers Association
The oldest music trade organization in the United States. The organization addresses issues pertaining to all areas of music publishing in contemporary and educational music
SESAC
The second oldest performing rights organization in the United States, representing music publishers and songwriters
The Recording Academy
The organization responsible for the Grammy award, representing musicians, producers, and recording professionals
RIAA
The trade group that represents the recording industry in the United States

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals.
Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.