Public Health Research Guide: Resources for Public Health Educators

State Data Repositories/Data Sets

• Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Legislative Database - (Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention, CDC (DHDSP))  - Online database of state heart disease and stroke prevention policies and a mapping application to map state policies based on selected criteria.

• Kaiser Family Foundation's State Health Facts Online - (Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF) US)  - Provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on all 50 states with data on health status, health coverage and uninsured, and more than other 700 health topics.

• Minnesota Data Collection and Sources - (Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA))  - Database of nearly 5 million records dating back to 1980 for Twin Cities metropolitan hospitals.

• North Carolina Health Professions Data System - (Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research)  - Collects and disseminates timely and reliable data on selected licensed health professionals in North Carolina.

• North Carolina Rural Health Policy Cartographic Archive - (Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research)  - Maps on all aspects of rural health care.

• State Cancer Legislative Database (SCLD) Program - A specialized database produced by the National Cancer Institute, which provides synthesized information relating to developments in state cancer prevention and control legislation and related policy activities.

• State Cancer Profiles - (National Cancer Institute, NIH (NCI))  - Descriptive cancer statistics to help prioritize cancer control efforts. The focus is on cancer sites for which there are known, preventable risk factors or screening tests for early detection and effective treatment options.

• State Data Centers - (Bureau of the Census U.S.)  - The State Data Centers (SDCs) are official sources of demographic, economic, and social statistics produced by the Census Bureau. The SDC program between the states and the Census Bureau was created to make data available locally to the public through a network of state agencies, universities, libraries, and regional and local governments.

• State Data Resources - (Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) U.S.)  - Links to individual state health data sources.

• State Inpatient Databases (SID) - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ))  - Contains the universe of the inpatient discharge abstracts in participating States, translated into a uniform format to facilitate multi-State comparisons and analyses.

• Statistics and Data - New York Department of Health - Variety of statistics from the NY Department of Health.

• Virginia Health Information (VHI) - (Virginia Health Information (VHI) USA)  - A nonprofit that provides Virginia-centered health information. Qualifying organizations can license data files (e.g., Virginia hospital discharge data, Annual Licensure Survey Data from hospitals, nursing facilities and ambulatory surgical centers) for research-specific projects or for general public use.