Ohio Department of Health COVID-19 Vaccination Program
Find out how and where to get the vaccination shot. Learn about the myths and facts regarding the COVID-19 vaccine.
When and How to Wash Your Hands
From the Center for Disease Control (CDC).
COVID-19 Health Literacy Project
This project creates and translates accessible COVID-19 information into other languages. (They currently support 35 languages on their website.) All materials are reviewed by physicians and faculty at Harvard Medical School.
Disclaimer: This page will represent a non-exhaustive list of resources, tools, and tips intended to provide support and ideas for our Otterbein community. These are provided for your information and for you to use as you see appropriate, and do not represent any particular endorsement from the library. This guide is not intended to be used as medical advice or in lieu of medical care. Always consult your physician if you are experiencing health problems or before beginning a nutrition or exercise program.
Content and Trigger Warnings: This guide contains information and resources regarding topics that some may find distressing and/or triggering, including, but not limited to: sexual assault and violence, abuse, self-harm and suicide, substance abuse and addiction, eating disorders, and death or dying.
Resources for emergency support:
Crisis Text Line: The free, 24/7, Crisis Text Line serves anyone in any type of crisis, providing access to free, 24/7 emotional support and information via text. Data usage while texting Crisis Text Line is free and the number will not appear on a phone bill with the mobile service carrier.
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: Provides free and confidential emotional support to people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress 24/7.
The Trevor Project: Provides crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to LGBTQ+ young people under 25.
Sexual Assault Response Network of Central Ohio (SARNCO): It provides advocacy and emotional support services in conjunction with medical and social services at OhioHealth Emergency Departments and other local facilities in central Ohio. Services include emergency room advocacy, 24-hour helpline, and recovery resources.
The library has a small circulating collection of items that promote self care of each individual on campus. Stop by the Customer Service Desk or library website today to check one of these out. All items have a loan period of 3 days and cannot be renewed.
Light Therapy Lamps (qty 2): The Circadian Optics Lumos 2.0 Light Therapy lamp is a desktop ultra-bright LED lamp. It has a rotating light panel which allows users to maximize their light therapy session by allowing you to place, position, and direct the lamp any way you want.
White Noise Machine: Create a peaceful space that helps you fall asleep faster and wake up feeling rested and ready to go or use it to unwind after a hard day. You can use it just about anywhere and the rhythmic sounds will instill a feeling of comfort to people of all ages.
Bird Watching Kits (qty 2): This kit includes a set of binoculars and instructions on where to find books on local birds in the library's main collection.
Affirmation Cards: A set of 50 inspirational affirmation cards that can "help you help yourself without all the self helpy-ness"
Bubble Poppers (qty 2): Whether used to keep your hands busy or your mind off your stress this bubble popper is just like popping real bubble wrap.
TED Talks Playlist - The Importance of Self-Care
A curated playlist of TED Talks addressing a range of self-care topics, including emotional health, mindfulness, COVID-19, social distancing, spirituality, stress management, walking, personal health data management, and dieting.
Index, abstracts, and full text of the literature of nursing and allied health.
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, Consumer Health Complete includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis.
Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Follow us to keep up on the latest Library news and info.
Courtright Memorial Library's guide to evaluating potential sources of information. Discusses bias, scholarly versus non-scholarly publications, evaluation criteria, and evaluating web pages.
MedlinePlus' guide to finding current, unbiased, research-based information. Includes a tutorial, journal articles, and additional links from reputable organizations and sources.
Finding and Evaluating Online Resources
A guide from the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health intended to help users find and determine the reliability of online resources, including web sites, social media, and mobile health apps. Includes a section about determining whether a site is news or advertising.
