Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

BindingDB is a public, web-accessible database of measured binding affinities, focusing chiefly on the interactions of protein considered to be drug-targets with small, drug-like molecules. BindingDB contains 781,982 binding data, for 6,448 protein targets and 342,414 small molecules.

An extensive list of links to a variety of sources on molecular biology and genetics. All links are reviewed by experts.

Online version of the journal. Full text of articles from Jan. 1974 to present. Technical articles.

Animations and illustrations of cells and their processes.

Basic description of cloning and its future. Done with lots of graphics and in nontechnical language.

From NCIBI, a gene set enrichment testing and gene set relation mapping tool that can help you identify, explore, and visualize relationships and significant overlaps among sets of genes (concepts). ConceptGen is built on a repository of conceptual data drawn from diverse areas

An open source bioinformatics software platform for visualizing molecular interaction networks and integrating these interactions with gene expression profiles and other state data. This free software needs to be downloaded on individual computers. The MetScape Plugin for Cytoscape provides a bioinformatics framework for the visualization and interpretation of metabolomic and expression profiling data in the context of human metabolism.

Introductory-level explanation of Sanger and Cycle DNA sequencing. Lots of graphics to help.

A straightforward introduction to understanding these "building blocks of life." There's a quiz to test your understanding.

Excellent site with a wealth of information, including many animations, on genetics. Explore the "Websites" and "Resources" sections.

This online encyclopedia is not full text but is good for citations and abstracts.

Nice website on the beginnings of cellular life. Great illustrations.

A major bioinformatics initiative with the aim of standardizing the representation of gene and gene product attributes across species and databases. The project provides a controlled vocabulary of terms for describing gene product characteristics and gene product annotation data from GO Consortium members.

An easy-to-use introduction to genes and genetics. From the University of Utah. Includes exploration of cloning, stem cells, and gene therapy.

Links to animations on molecular and cellular biology. Use the 'Showcase' and'Learning' buttons to see the lists. Can be arranged by topic or by level.

MGI, developed at the Jackson Laboratory in Bar Harbor, Maine, provides free, publicly available access to integrated data on the genetics, genomics and biology of the laboratory mouse.

Covers DNA, genes, chromosomes, the human genome, and more.

Titles Subscribed

Our subscription to ScienceDirect includes access to the full-text of over 200 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine. Additionally, abstract and bibliographic information is available for the entire database of 2500 journal titles, eBooks, reference works, handbooks, and book series.

Excellent resource for information on cell biology, genetics, and other biology topics. From the people who do Nature, a leading science journal.

The official US government site on stem cells and the policies overseeing their use.

The Structural Genomics Knowledgebase (SGKB) is a free, comprehensive resource produced in a collaboration between the Protein Structure Initiative (PSI) and Nature Publishing Group (NPG). The site offers you an easy way of keeping abreast of developments both by the PSI and more generally in the fields of structural genomics and structural biology

Tutorial that explains the basics of cells and DNA. Nice visuals and clear explanations. From the University of Utah.

Animated tour of a cell from the National Science Foundation. Click on the parts of the cell to get a basic explanation of its role.

A free online lab manual for Molecular Biology. Divided into 12 sections so you can focus on your needs easily.

Covers the ethical, legal, and social issues of the Human Genome Project.