LibGuides: Biochemistry & Molecular Biology: General Biology

General Biology

These library databases and public web sites cover the overall field. Many of these are collections of links to other, more specific sites.

Action Bioscience
more...less...
Collections of many sources on major issues in biology, such as biodiversity, evolution, genetics, etc. Good place to start a research project. From the American Institute of Biological Sciences.
AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts
more...less...
This comprehensive database provides bibliographic data from the worldwide scientific literature as related to AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics. Information featured in the database concentrates on both basic science research and clinical applications
arXiv e-Print archive (includes Quantitative Biology)
more...less...
This is an open access database with 550,526 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. This is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. It is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
more...less...
his database provides extensive coverage of research on aquatic organisms for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. Marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, and legal, policy and socioeconomic issues. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Aquatic Sciences supplements ASFA with access to over a million indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature.
BioABACUS:
more...less...
A database of abbreviations and acronyms in biotechnology and computer science.
BIODIDAC Images
more...less...
Create a bank of digital images, video, and animations that can be used and adapted for teaching Biology. Thousands of line drawings of organisms from bacteria to human biology.
Bioethics.net
more...less...
Excerpts from American Journal of Bioethics, including tables of contents and some free full-text information on news and commentary on the subject.
Bioethics.net
more...less...
Excerpts from American Journal of Bioethics, including tables of contents and some free full-text information on news and commentary on the subject.
Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University
Biological Sciences
more...less...
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science monitoring literature from over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and books and patents. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Biological Sciences supplements Biological Sciences with access to millions of indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature.
Biology Browser
more...less...
Search by organism, general subjects, or geography. Includes conference proceedings, technical reports, links to web sites, and more.
Biology Online
more...less...
Biology dictionary, tutorials, articles, books, and more. Done by a group of interested nonprofessionals but the contents are generally good. Part of the Scientific American Partner Network.
Biology Project: An Interactive Online Resource for Learning Biology
more...less...
From the Univ. of Arizona. Covers a broad range of biological disciplines with tutorials and quizzes.
BioMed Central
more...less...
Articles and research from over 100 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of Biology and Medicine.
BioMed Online Journals
more...less...
Over 150 biology journals are covered. Not all of them have the full text accessible, but many do. Try putting your keywords in the search box for "Abstract" and selecting "All Content I Have Access To."
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Statistics
more...less...
Publications and Information Products
Cogprints
more...less...
Archive of pre-published papers in sciences.
Digital Journals Online
Health Poll
more...less...
"Health Poll Search is a comprehensive, searchable archive of health-related public opinion questions that allows users to know what Americans think and have thought about health issues over time."
Highwire
more...less...
Articles from PubMed journals

More General Biology Websites

JSTOR - Life Sciences Collection
Khan Academy - Biology lessons
more...less...
Free lectures and lessons on many Biology topics (and all academic areas). A nonprofit effort to provide free education to all.
Kimball's Biology Pages
more...less...
An online biology textbook. Search or use the alphabetical list or the topics list. Written by a retired Harvard instructor.
MarineBio
more...less...
Lots of information on marine biology, including animals, environmental issues, biodiversity, etc. From a nonprofit conservation society.
MedlinePlus
more...less...
Free to all, a consumer health information service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Merck Manual
more...less...
Merck is committed to bringing out the best in medicine. As part of that effort, Merck has created The Merck Manuals, a series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers. As a service to the community, the content of The Manuals is now available in enhanced online versions. The Merck Manual Online is updated periodically with new information, and contains photographs, and audio and video material not present in the print versions.
MIT OpenCourseWare - Biology
more...less...
The Massachusetts Institute of Technology is one of the premier science universities. They make all of their courses available on the web. There are over 3 dozen biology courses listed.
National Academy Press
more...less...
Online books in a wide variety of sciences, including biology, nutrition, agriculture.
Nature Reviews
more...less...
The highly respected journal Nature also puts out 7 specialized journals on a variety of biology-related fields, notably Genetics, Cellular, and Microbiology. Usually there's full text of articles for the most recent issue and several past years.
Protein Information Resource

more...less...
Integrated protein informatics resource for Genomics, Proteomic and Systems Biology research
Public Libraries of Science
more...less...
PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. All our activities are guided by our core principles.
PubMed
This version of PubMed is an indexing service that provides citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases, with links to journal articles in MSM databases. There are also Open Access articles included in PubMed.

To Link Out to MSM articles,
On your search results display:
look on the left sidebar menu under TEXT AVAILABILITY:
click on the ABSTRACT AVAILABLE and the FULL TEXT AVAILABLE options;
then at the article level,
click on the LINK OUT - MORE RESOURCES Option at the bottom of the abstract to see if the article is available in one of our MSM databases.
more...less...
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central (PMC)
more...less...
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
SciBX - Science-Business eXchange
more...less...
A weekly publication that provides a timely, concise and understandable analysis of the scientific content and commercial potential of the most important translational research papers from across the life science literature. Editorial teams at SciBX mine articles across the literature each week, distilling information down to 25 most important developments. By reporting the industry viewpoint on key papers, SciBX provides a unique scientific and commercial perspective on today's breakthrough science
Science @ a Distance: e-Learning Modules
more...less...
Several modules on biology topics, mainly on cellular biology and genetics. From a professor at City University of New York.
Science Direct
more...less...
Titles Subscribed

Our subscription to ScienceDirect includes access to the full-text of over 200 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine. Additionally, abstract and bibliographic information is available for the entire database of 2500 journal titles, eBooks, reference works, handbooks, and book series.
Science.gov - Biology & Nature
more...less...
Extensive list of links to quality web sites. Or you can search them as a group. From the US government.