Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms.

Information from the US Dept. of Agriculture on organic and sustainable farming practices. Covers growing crops, pest management, water management, and more.

Database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology" from the Univ. of Michigan.

A website that chronicles the work of the Census of Marine Life, an international effort to document and study the diversity and distribution of life in the oceans. The site provides lists of publications arising out of the project (including a database of published papers), a summary of projects with links to their websites, an image gallery, and more.

Field guides to over 5000 species of plants and animals. Check out the "zipguides," which let you see the plants and animals for a specific zip code.

This site describes itself as "an ambitious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth." They plan to have a page on each organism on earth.

Overview of endangered species, with links to sections on extinct, threatened, and recovered species.

This is a database of plants used as drugs, foods, dyes, fibers, and more, by Native Americans. Researchers can search the database to see how Native Americans used different plants in a variety of ways. The majority of records are hot linked to the USDA Plants Database, allowing the user to see a picture of the plant along with detailed botanical information.

Beautiful photos and basic information about insects and spiders. You can browse by type of bug or use the table of contents for an alphabetical listing.

From the US Dept. of Agriculture. Vascular plants, bryophytes, lichens.

Titles Subscribed

Our subscription to ScienceDirect includes access to the full-text of over 200 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine. Additionally, abstract and bibliographic information is available for the entire database of 2500 journal titles, eBooks, reference works, handbooks, and book series.

indexes the contents of seven journals covering ornithology from their first issue to 1999, including free access to the full text of their articles.

Large collection of close-ups of plant structures, including some animations. From the University of Miami.

Great photos of over 400 species of trees. Browse through the collection by family or use the search at the bottom of the screen.

The diversity of all organisms, living and extinct. Their evolution, phylogeny, and characteristics. Search by keyword or use the graphics to follow the tree's branches. Lots of images.