Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Solid research information on a broad range of biological issues as they relate to the environment. From the American Institute of Biological Sciences.

Green energy reports and information, most from U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information. Search for information on green energy, including solar, wind, bioenergy, and others types of renewable energy.

This site describes itself as "an ambitious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth." They plan to have a page on each organism on earth.

Information on endangered species in the U.S. From the Center for Biological Diversity, a non-profit advocacy group.

Created by the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health

This database provides detailed abstracts and indexing of the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government. EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences and legal mandates.

This multidisciplinary database provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Environmental Science supplements the database with access to over a million indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature for selected records.

SRS is the Environmental Protection Agency's central system for information about substances that are tracked/regulated by EPA or other sources. It is the authoritative resource for basic information about chemicals, biological organisms, and other substances of interest.

Descriptions of the hundreds of freshwater regions all over the globe. Has lists of threatened species, biodiversity, etc. From the Nature Conservancy and World Wildlife Fund.

Provides information on health and safety information on Household Products; from the U.S. Department of Health and Hu man Services

Choose you species!

Explores how sustainable development practices affect biological systems. The "Our Knowledge" section may be the most useful.

Information on a variety of undersea topics: marine ecology, fish, coral reefs, etc.

Information on marine biology, primarily on conservation issues. From a non-profit group that advocates for ocean protection.

The Environmental Protection Agency created this website with well-organized and intuitive layout. It is divided into enviromental areas of interest.

Database of plants and animals and ecosystems around the world.

Titles Subscribed

Our subscription to ScienceDirect includes access to the full-text of over 200 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine. Additionally, abstract and bibliographic information is available for the entire database of 2500 journal titles, eBooks, reference works, handbooks, and book series.

This highly visual site covers the phenomenon of oceanic dead zones, in particular the recurring one in the Gulf of Mexico. The causes and effects on the ecosystem are covered in easy-to-understand language. From the Science Museum of Minnesota.

Information on the major biological communities (deserts, forests, etc.) and how they are changing. From the University of California.

Tox Town is designed to give you information on everyday locations where you might find toxic chemicals, non-technical descriptions of chemicals, links to selected, authoritative chemical information on the Internet, how the environment can impact human health and Internet resources on environmental health topics; provided by the National Library of Medicine

TOXMAP is a Geographic Information System (GIS) from the Division of Specialized Information Services of the National Library of Medicine that uses maps of the United States to help users visually explore data from the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)'s Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and Superfund Program.

From NLM, databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Information on how various biological areas interconnect in studying the environment.

"Citizens and scientists for environmental solutions." Global warming, energy, endangered species, pollution, and more.